Second Monday of Great Lent (Day 14) in Reiwa 6

  • April 1, 2024, 10:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the 6th year of the Reiwa Emperor.
Regarding the events of March 19th, Julian Calendar.

Today, Monday, was a very, very, busy day.

In the morning I got up and went to the psychiatrist. In addition to the usual, they did bloodwork and a urine sample. However, she was so satisfied with my health and condition that she said she didn’t need to see me this month and was fine with seeing me next month instead. So . . . that’s a nice vote of confidence. It also means that they CAN give drugs out for more than a month, so there.

Then I raced to the university and changed a student’s grade (took 2 tries as I’m not good at it) and picked up my textbooks from my locker (no office, just a locker). Classes start on the 15th. Yay.

After that, it was back home, air off my stinking body, pick up older brother, and go to Satsuma for the dentist. We tried to drop him off at the Iriki onsen, but it turns out that it’s closed on Mondays. Eventually, we decided that I’d get out at the dentist and he’d drive around and find a place. I told him to expect to pick me up between 5 and 5:30 as I needed a cleaning and repair to a cracked tooth (a reminder of Amanda). Well, it’s a good thing that he just went to the park and washed his feet in the foot bath, because I was done at 4:45. That’s why I see this guy. He’s amazing.

After that, we drove back and got Sushi for dinner. There were accidents and problems along the way. I was inclined to follow Google navigation, but he said he knew backroads. I started to fight back a bit, but then I realized: I don’t really care about being right, here. I am happy to spend time with him, so we’ll do what he wants. I don’t know if we saved any time. It was certainly more difficult, but he enjoyed it and it really wasn’t a big deal for me. Gotta let the little things go, especially for family.

These days in my prayers, I often thank God that when I pray for my enemies, my brother is no longer on that list. My enemies list keeps getting shorter and shorter, and that’s a wonderful thing to experience. The remainders are doozies, but . . . that’s what prayer is for, is it not?

My family seems to really want me to get the house. Dad seems to think I should get both houses. It’s certainly worth considering. I’ve got a lot of people praying on it. We’ll see how things go. I really need to control my spending. As I’m trying to eat less, I’m indulging in way too much retail therapy as pain management. Gotta beat that.

Tomorrow is my first day back on full time at the school, so we’ll see how that goes. Eric is going to help me to get a lot of stuff done on/with/to my computer, so that’ll be very rewarding. I hope so, anyway.

Perhaps when we are wearied unto death
Or think perhaps we’re nearing to our end
what most we need is but to take a breath
And reach out for the hand of a dear friend

If on the day of rest the sun is high
and shows no sign of every going down
it’s strength enough that you are nigh
And in the light of you I shall not frown

But if you are away from me for years
The memories of what you always give
Will be enough to wipe away my dears
And help me to remember why to live

I know that life goes on without your hear
But better if you could be always near

Hanged wisteria
clinging to a cherry tree
scattered afternoon


Last updated April 02, 2024


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.