April 1 in These Foolish Things

  • April 1, 2024, 12:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good morning! Gonna see if I can add quick journal entries to my morning routine. I’m still figuring my morning routine out - always a work in progress - but I would love to add this to my 75 Hard routine, or really, just call it my own routine. I feel like I don’t carve out enough time to sit down and write about my days anymore. It’s my own doing. By the time I get to it, I’m normally tired.

But I love my morning routine, and maybe this will be a way to incorporate entries into my daily habits.

75 Hard going well! I am still sitting at a 16 lb weight loss and am getting close to my “goal”. I know that the idea of this is not a weight loss “journey” (ugh, overused word) but rather a way to solidify good habits, but the weight thing seems to be the most visible change, so it’s always the thing I’m looking at. Also note that I’m starting to see the muscle definition in my arms and shoulders and a decrease in the flab on my bootie and even the cellulite on my thighs, so those are also visible changes.

And my clothes!! I have a whole new wardrobe again! Time to shop the closet.

Yesterday was Easter, so I took the long 3-hour out and 3-hour back trek to see mom and dad. They are doing well-ish and their medical situations have settled down for now. They have hired someone to help them clean and my SIL has greatly stepped up to the plate to help them out with meal preps and transportation to and from doc appointments. My bro is another story, but he’s actually quite a bit more conscientious about things lately. I’m temporarily relieved.

We went to church. Mom and Dad are now habitually late to things - it’s just from the slowing down process and they always know they are going to be late and are not bothered by it in the least. Normally, being late would be something that causes me to stress and panic, but because they don’t give a rat’s ass in the least, I didn’t care either. We walked into that sanctuary, loud and proud…mom with her walker, dad slowly behind her, my bro and SIL and crazy-ass niece be-bobbing around with her empty Easter basket (egg hunt after the service), and me with my dog in a bag! What a sight I know we are, but for the first time in like, EVER, I gave zero fucks in that space. We are what we are at this point [note: Martini is suuuuch a good emotional support animal and I set her in her bag next to mom who got to stroke her head the whole time].

There was a brunch afterwards and I happened to be sitting next to this old dude who wouldn’t SHUT THE FUCK UP about his company and his invention and patent of a recycled insulation-type product and all of the companies who are after his product. I told him that he needed to talk to “Elon” and he was like, “Elon Musk? Oh, I have a meeting set up with him in three weeks!” And then, “I was offered $3.8 billion for my company, but I turned it down…” On and on and on… and then I was able to get his annual sales out of him. Impressive in a small company kind of way, but such a bullshitter.

I wanted to talk with Mom and Dad, but the guy kept interrupting and HITTING me on the shoulder if I didn’t listen to him! He wanted to go on and on and on and was even telling me about how his wife died in his arms last month, and OMG! I’m sure he’s just a lonely old man, but STOP HITTING ME!!

Finally, I was like (as politely as possible), “yeah, I want to eat my dessert now” and the only way I could get him to stop getting in my face was to turn away from him. He got the message.

All in all, had a good day yesterday despite some weirdness. Life is weird. You gotta just take it as it comes and not get too freaked out about it, I guess.

So, my time is up and I need to go work out now. So far, good start to Monday and great start to April!

Don’t let anyone fool ya!

Love,
GS


Complicated Disaster April 01, 2024

Happy Easter! xx

WhatDreamsMayCome April 01, 2024

It's okay to be ridiculous!
;-)

Jinn April 02, 2024 (edited April 02, 2024)

Edited

What an Easter ! I love it .
You sound like you are doing great with your diet and your work out. Congrats !

Lux Lunae April 03, 2024

Wow it sucks that that dude took so much time away from your time with your parents. Sure we eat at brunch but it's also nice to visit while eating. I get that he's lonely but he also needs to read the room better!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.