First Tuesday of Great Lent (Day 8) in Reiwa 6

  • March 27, 2024, 4:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the 6th year of the Reiwa Emperor
March 12th Julian Calendar.

I woke up too early in the morning, so I set about working, which I did knowing that I’d likely slack off in the afternoon. Which I did. But since I started work 2 hours early and worked late, I figure . . . it evens out, right? I hope so.
As part of my suite of treatments, I’m taking nerve suppressing medicine which has the effect of making me feel sleepy and drunk. It’s very nice as a feeling in theory, but it’s not great for getting things accomplished. Still, one must accomplish things.
I made a deal with Pontius to make sure that I’m cleaning my house little by little every day. I ordered a grabber stick to help me with the cleanup. By the time he gets here in May, hopefully everything will be mostly taken care of, and he can help me with more details reorganization. We’re calling it, “Cleaning the Goblin Hole,” so he will now message me daily (He did on Wednesday today/tomorrow) to see if I made my Hole Goal. I am amused.
My dreams have been interesting lately. Last night, I was smoking a big cigar, but I didn’t enjoy it. My dreams have been a parade of vices and temptations, which is interesting.
On that note.
I ate way, WAY, too much yesterday. In addition to Yoko’s dinner, I ate 2 baguettes with salsa. Unacceptable. For what little good my reading does me, I need to at least not gorge myself. Oh my goodness is food ever my weakness. Reading and prayers accomplished, though. For what little that’s worth in the face of what I actually did.

A king of Babylon sat down to feast
With wives and concubines and still a whore
He found upon his table such a beast
As never was in Babylon before

Its eyes were dead and milky white inside
an aromatic smoke of poison twirled
And more that can’t be spoken said king eyed
And wanted it as much as all the world

Indulging smoke and drink and whore and food
He made a beast of what had been a king
And in his vices plebian and rude
He could not find within a voice to sing

If filled with all that ever fills a man
and emptiness remains whatever can . . .

sakuramochi
offered by a lovely girl
in the Lenten fast


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.