[Explicit Content] "God Doesn't Make The World This Way...We Do." in Elephant Architecture

Revised: 03/25/2024 11:42 a.m.

  • March 25, 2024, midnight
  • |
  • Public

That stupid cunt did it. Please excuse my venting, but that stupid cunt put him in an early grave. Why do I know? Because I was there. I felt her wrath to. She envied his position.

Walt growled when he walked in. First, I thought it was some sort of a “manly” thing he did. That man growled and huffed his way into work every night. Until one night he couldn’t. We wheeled him up in a wheelchair. Walt. My friend. He couldn’t breath. An ex-smoker in breathing therapy. I REALLY liked Walt. He made that Ward tolerable. We were all buddies under Walt. At first I was angry that I was doing his job for him, but later, through word of mouth I heard he couldn’t breath and that’s where the growling came from. Ole Walt, is what I called him. He’d show up and put the best action flicks on and nap if he was tired. I’m upset. Walt was the American Dream. We gathered and did our best. No. I’m really upset. It was like my grandfathers serving in the Navy and occupying a ship by a good natured sailer I had the privilege to work under. Walt was one of us. He came to work and made it like a Living Room you’d want be in. We yelled at each other and fought sometimes but we always loved coming into work. Walt would man you up for a bit and then put on a good flick. He’d let me leave early on the days I had to make it to class. You could yell back at him at those intense moments like a man and he’d respect you for it. You just have to find a common ground with people.

A few weeks before he took medical leave the Nurse was pissing me off. She was insisting that I spend time in the bubble when Walt and I already had things worked out. I came up front and said, “We all die alone so why does it matter?” Walt didn’t miss any beat and took it to heart. He quit a few weeks later, and passed away a few months later.

It’s the moments I had with Walt that give being an American prestige. He was from the other side of the tracks of Atlanta that my Aunt and Uncle live in. But, it’s the moments like serving in the same military that make the moments matter. Walt was a Navy man whether or not he ever actually signed up. We were both navigating shifts. Some days he forget to chart the weights of the patients and I would look the other way, because we were both in the same boat.

Walt had the best sense of style especially when it came to movies and films. Walt would let me sleep on duty during those times I was especially getting me ass kicked in classes, and I would let him sleep deep and glorious sleep on the night’s i could feel that he really needed sleep around friends.


Last updated March 25, 2024


TL March 25, 2024

I'm sorry for your loss

Zampano TL ⋅ March 26, 2024

O.....Its all good. It just sort of hit me in the right way yesterday. Folks passway and that's all a part of it. His cohort at work who knew him longer than I did are pretty torn up. We thought he was getting better and maybe even coming back. As I was recollecting the memories, I couldn't help but to remember The Anus Bird, or The Great Dementor. Like I said, I felt it too. It felt like someone stomping you into an early grave. I refuse to work with her after those feelings. She got hers, though. She left a stove on and burned her house and now she is out of work due to smoke inhalation. I can't tell you how much chiller work is now and more therapeutic.

Zampano TL ⋅ March 26, 2024 (edited March 26, 2024)

Edited

One of the guys who is especially torn up over it was arguing with me one night over us having to do Walt's work for him. I was like, "Bro, the guy can barely breathe. It is what it is. He's like a handicap person we're opening doors for." And the other guy was all like, "He gets what he gets and deserves for smoking that much". I was like, "Bro, no one deserves dying that way. He made a mistake and addiction is like a disease. Blame the first people who threw cigarettes at him, jeez".

It always fascinates me on how folks like that cope with loss. I'm sure there is some guilt. We're always so ready to play a blame game when someone is taking up a parking-spot or promotion you want at work. We're always so ready to say, "Well, he gets what he deserves", rather than experiencing one ounce of empathy when that person is somehow slowing you down from you getting yours. You never know why he started smoking in the first place. His father could have given a pack to smoke when he was 11 or, back in the day, the cigarette companies would throw cigarettes to children during a parade.

TL Zampano ⋅ March 27, 2024

That was very tactless of him, 100%. I also used to smoke. I quit 8 years ago. It's not so easy after all.

Zampano TL ⋅ March 27, 2024 (edited March 27, 2024)

Edited

Yes, you are correct. I feel like he was speaking for The Group or Walt's bosses. I noted that the Holier Than Thou types would sort of treat Walt like an overgrown kid who never grew up in a real condescending light. I realize we all deal with tragic cases differently where I have found that empathy is how I deal with these cases. Yes, he would shirk the work if he could but I always look at context. It's really just immaturity on their case. They saw "Dad" and dad's not doing what he is supposed to do. Father's are somewhat invincible in their children's eyes; where I saw my little brother struggling with life.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.