Lent Day 5 in Reiwa 6

  • March 24, 2024, 10:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the 6th year of the Reiwa Emperor
Regarding March 10th, Julian calendar.

It seems that I’ve been struggling to keep the dating consistent, which doesn’t entirely surprise me. Between Julian/Gregorian conversion, writing these after midnight, and apparently missing a day (which one? I need to go back and check) it seems that I’ve been a bit off.

Saturday was a work day, which is always brutal. Of particular note is that I made a group of students cry because I guilt tripped them so hard for their inability to focus. My own failing as a teacher, I suppose.

I went out to dinner with my boss after work, and all was well. We had a good talk, and I wanted to thank him for that raise. I badmouthed other coworkers, though, and that was a problem, something we’ll deal with on Sunday.

Made prayer and reading goals, somehow or other.

How sweet a thing it is to be believed
and sweeter still to know a thing called trust
for such a gift I seldom have received
whatever may be said of that as just

How sweet to have the ear of those above
And sweeter still to have the heart and mind
But venom pours more easily than love
And counselors are seldom good and kind

How can I speak ill of those I know
When knowing of myself I see too well
That years and year of putting on a show
Provide one with a booking straight to hell

To truth and not desire lend an ear
Of this I am not capable, I fear

Stabbing at a foe
pouring blood from my clenched hands
clinging to the blade


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.