Lent: Day 4 in Reiwa 6

  • March 23, 2024, 1:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the 6th year of the Reiwa Emperor.

March 9th Julian Calendar

Fridays are always a mixed bag for me. Easy morning, hard evening. This Friday had an easier morning than most (no adult classes), but considering my condition, I was happy to have the relief, and I wasn’t as rested as I could have been.
I was able to get all of my work done by the start of the staff meeting, which was very nice. I wish that I’d had more time and inclination to get more done, but that I didn’t is too late to change, I suppose.
I got word that my contract went through, and I’ll be getting a significant raise, my old salary reinstated, an a bonus that I wasn’t entitled to. It felt amazing. I’m proud of my work.
I ate out, sushi, and took Yoko’s bento home to be my lunch on Saturday. It wasn’t, perhaps, the best I could have done, and I feel bad about how much I ate, but it may have been better (in the light of Saturday) than getting a loaf of bread for lunch today as I would have done otherwise. So . . . more and better self control. Yes, obviously.
Got my prayers in, got my reading in, and kept myself in moderate working order.

Were it enough to stand before a mirror
And say, “What’s done is depart. I’m free”
I wonder, should the silent speaker hear
Could he be coaxed or forced to then agree

Could I say to my shadow, “Hie thee hence,”
And running quickly leave it far behind
Would speed be counted as a just defence
Or would it leave a shadow on my mind

I cannot change the color of a hair
That grows upon my fool of a head
Nor can I make my reddened scars to fair
So it will be ‘till also I am dead

But what a change can you affect in me
And what a chance for man to yet be free

Do morning glories
blooming from the selfsame vine
gaze in vanity


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.