The Unholy Union Part 3 in A New Chapter

  • March 21, 2024, 1:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The wedding day started pretty well. We walked over to get breakfast and things were back to “normal.” While we were eating this guy from Switzerland came over to say hi to my mom and introduce himself. Apparently he had been talking to my mom and they had been taking early morning walks. He was a bit more mature in age than my mom but sometimes I forget how old my mom is. She is 60 but she acts like she is 30 and looks like she is maybe 45. We started joking that he was trying to get together with her but my mom said it didn’t feel like it to her. (Later on she would find out that this guy was gay.)

Apparently the rehearsal dinner went pretty poorly. I’m cringing even writing about it. It ended up being really expensive, I think it was about $5,000 (at least that’s expensive to me.) There was a lot of drama about seating arrangements and what not. Apparently my dad was not supposed to cover this meal but at the end they decided to “split it.” Not sure what the details are with this part since I have heard contrarian reports, but stepmom got upset because my dad was going to cover my mom’s food. Mike’s dad covered it instead. It’s trivial because 50/50 is still the same.

Another challenger also entered the party the day before: my stepmom’s son, Xavier. He is a good kid for the most part but he is just dumb. He is in his early 20s and he is a bit strange? he was a model for a bit but as far as I have known, he hasn’t had a girlfriend. He is absurdly close to his mom. I understand that some people have a really good relationship with their parents but this dude hugs his mom all the time, they tell each other secrets..and give each other piggyback rides in the pool. Your guess is as good as mine.

He went to the rehearsal dinner and apparently he was not invited. Turns out my sister hates this guy and told the photographer to avoid capturing him during the family photos (dick move but I admit I laughed my ass off.) My brother and his wife ended up spilling most of the gossip and that my sister had been upset about some things. This will be big later on but I’m going to leave it there for now.

As we got ready for the event, I got a text that I was supposed to go hang out with the groomsmen at a luxury suite. Kinda like “boys time” and to take some photos with 1000 degrees weather. Fuck me sideways. The suit I had to wear was pretty nice, my dad’s cousin from Italy made it. He has been a professional tailor as part of a family business that has been around for almost a century. We headed over to the suite and started chatting.

The suite was obviously nice and comfy but I have a hard time conversing with that dude. I just followed the approach of just asking him questions so he felt important during his big day. Eventually the other guys show up and they’re..well..just like him. When I was living up north, I always loved New York City. I have so many memories from my teen years of hanging out in the city with my friends and what not. But god damn..these New York dudes are unbearable. The older I get, the less I can stand that place.

All they talked about is how the hotel was not nice enough, the food was crap, etc. One bitched about the breakfast that I previously praised. He said it was awful and he had to order a $75 steak to make up for it. He said the steak was “okay.” Maybe I’m lame..but most of them talked about how their kids and wives are annoying and how they love being away from them. I don’t know..I enjoy spending time with my wife and my son. Do I need a break sometimes? sure. It just felt sad to hear them talk about it. I also don’t know how to feel about the wedding destination being crap. The guy who is getting married was right there and this wedding was not cheap..the estimates range from $500,000 to $750,000. I mean, it showed. It had 3 coordinators, some people arrived by private jet, some people brought their own fucking stylists, etc. I can’t imagine what a “nice” wedding looks like to these people.

After a while, the pictures were cancelled because it was too damn hot outside. We were going to go by the marina but the photographers hadn’t really planned all that well. At some point Mike turns to me and asks where my dad was. I said “probably changing why?” and then he questions why he was not at the suite. I said he didn’t know he was supposed to be there so I called him. My dad was all types of mad about the poor organization but he and Mike’s father also came over.

Mike’s dad I do like. He is one of those “Goodfellas” types from a working class background. The guy shows up and we have a toast. I end up meeting one of the other guys who was actually pretty nice. Really down to earth and friendly. Turns out he was super loaded, his family owns some oil fields out west. Apparently they’re one of those rag to riches stories which I can respect. The guy never mentioned money and was very friendly.

Man..I thought that the wedding day + final day would fit into one entry but this is already a lot haha


TrippyNina March 21, 2024

I've been following this story since you posted the first entry and I saw it on the front page. I'm curious as to how it ends!!

Lupo Solitario TrippyNina ⋅ March 22, 2024

hahaha I'm glad it's entertaining some people!
I don't have many readers but many new people have showed up to share their amusement.
Thank you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.