Lent: Day 1 in Reiwa 6

  • March 18, 2024, 6:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the 6th year of the Reiwa Emperor.
March 5th Julian Calendar

The first day of lent passed reasonably well.
I was able to get my prayers and readings in without much difficulty. Wait . . . thinking back, I fell asleep during my prayers a few times, so . . . yeah. I should get on those earlier. I listened to the readings today for the most part, but I think that’s fine. I wish I had a clearer idea of “how” to focus. I think that the low attention span that afflicts most of us has gotten to me, and I struggle to do only one thing. Combing my hair while listening seems to help me to focus more than sitting down and reading. It’s a compromise to be sure, and I suppose that if it’s temporary, it’s alright, but I wonder about how long I can accept this situation before taking the necessary step of regaining focus.

I forgot to mention that my brother’s birthday (Mar 16 Gregorian) passed, and I messaged him. This year, he replied. So even though it was rough and damaging, I’m glad I went back to MI for Christmas.

I’ve asked Father Gregory to lay hands on me when we see each other next, and I’ve asked him how I can help out in some way during lent. Good deeds and alms are things I need to work on a bit during this time. It’s tricky, though, with a broken back and very little money. Still, if I’m eating less and heal quickly, maybe I can do both.

The full day fast was harder than usual. Not physically, but psychologically. I leave that to the reader to determine.

The Lenten season ushers in the spring
Among the seasons’ rains no more to weep
And chance to teach the very birds to sing
After far too long a rolling sleep

Today I cast my vices far away
And say goodbye to what I’ve done and more
If I can mimic heaven for a day
Perhaps I’ll learn to be forevermore

But so I’ve said the years upon this road
The same failed journey: can it bring success
Within the filth of this unkept abode
I pray with all my heart the answer’s yes

Please give me strength for just another day
to learn the lay of what we call The Way

Fasting in the spring
After winter’s gluttony
Summer just beyond


Last updated March 19, 2024


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.