Nice day ....... in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 16, 2024, 9:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today we went to LaCrosse via Caledonia where Jim picked up a part from the International dealer. When we got to LaCrosse we found out there was a St. Patrick’s day parade so the streets were blocked off, etc, sort of. We parked and walked to various places.

I bought four boxes of Girl Scout cookies for $20. We walked by Fayzee’s which has a for rent sign on the door. We ate lunch at a place called The Breakfast Club, which was interesting and good. I bought myself a drink since it was a drink selling place. We sat at the bar and watched the girl make drinks and I asked her i she’d make one for me. Easy as that. While we were there the parade went by but we didn’t see a lot of it.

Then we went to the book store along with a young man in a green plaid kilt and a costumed red haired dog named Maple.

I bought the following:

  • A Peter O’Toole bio by Robert Sellers. We have quite a few actors biographies. Is that a reason to buy another one? Maybe.

  • Ernest Hemingway’s Selected Letters edited by Baker. It’s a paper back and I had a copy of it before but gave it to a woman who really liked Hemingway. I’ve wanted to get it again and I now have it.

  • Will in the World by Stephen Greenblatt, which Jim wanted. It’s a compilation slash explanation of Shakespeare’s plays.

  • Hamlet by William Faulkner. I’ve been spending time with Faulkner lately. I listened to LIght in August read on Youtube and The Bear, a short story and I started to listen to As I Lay Dying. I am having this weird little fascination with the F man.

  • The Information by Martin Amis

Then we left downtown and went to the Northside Walmart and then to the big grocery store and then we came home, again on the Minnesota side since the Lansing bridge is still closed. It was a beautiful drive both ways. Lovely scenery. It was nice to be out and about.

In other news:

  • Yesterday the Amish came and put on the eave troughs.... other wise known as rain gutters… on the house. That should help keep the basement less wet - that is if we ever get any rain. It’s dry here.

  • Jim and I and the dog have been taking somewhat of a walk every evening. She is finding a lot of wildlife remains and is really enjoying them. No one seems to be getting much thinner.

  • I’m still not drinking Diet Pepsi.

  • I didn’t buy potting soil today but I was tempted. I did get a little red blooming holiday cactus.

  • I accidentally changed the car’s speedometer and odometer from miles to kilometers. Wow is that ever exciting. Turns out there is a button on the dash of the Buick that says E/M, and pushing it toggles the gauges from one system to another.

  • I have a pretty cloud picture I should post. Maybe if I tried I could do that. What do you think? I did. Did you notice it above. It was from one of our dog walks. Jim took it on his phone since I didn’t have my phone with me.

I guess that’s all. Have a good rest of the weekend.


Last updated March 16, 2024


noko March 16, 2024

It sounds like a nice day out. When we had the bookstore I went on a Faulkner binge. Nice big sky you have there.

A Pedestrian Wandering March 17, 2024

That is a wonderful photo. You have very dramatic clouds there.

woman in the moon A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ March 17, 2024

The sky belongs to us all. God's greatest most reliable gift according to me.

NorthernSeeker March 17, 2024

Oh, I loved The Information. I find actors' biographies interesting because it is always such a journey and hard work for the actor to make it and then it is a ton of work for them to stay in front of an audience. Congrats for staying away from the diet pepsi....not easy to stop a habit like that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.