#400-Why does nostalgia feel sad? in Magician Card

  • March 16, 2024, 1:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A friend from the past came back into my life in the past two weeks. They were someone I knew online when I was 15 and he was 14. And lately I feel weird about people who used to be in my life and aren’t, or even this friend who came back. Like sadness. I see how much has changed and whatnot, but I also realize I have also changed. And change is sad to some degree.

When I met him he was trying to run away from home, lived with his family before they divorced. He couldn’t stand his mother who was very much overprotective and not in a good way. She kept him from being independent.

He was a skinny kid with nerdy glasses, and looked like he could have passed for 12.

And well, now he’s a grown man that has changed so much. He’s got a gf he’s been with for 6 years now, and he actually introduced her to me. And she’s very sweet and kind and I really like her. So not only did I gain my old friend back, but I made a new one. But yet I get sad sometimes.

I have another friend who I tried to get back in contact with. Actually several. And it usually fizzled out pretty fast. One of my friends is also heavy into drugs and that makes me incredibly sad. I had to cut ties because I couldn’t stand watching them fall apart. It makes me super sad.

And seeing how much this friend of mine has changed is a good thing. Because the change has been positive. He used to be irritable because he was going through so much when he was younger. And also I gained an extra person in my life alongside him. So I guess I’m learning that....well…change can be wonderful!

Though I’m still sad. And I found out that there are a lot of people who do feel the same about old friends. I think about old friends a lot. Sometimes I feel alone with it, like I’m the only one who feels this way so it’s nice hearing that others feel the same way about people who are no longer in their lives.


WildflowerHeart March 16, 2024

It makes me sad too when I am in contact with old friends I used to be close with and we've truly grown apart without much in common anymore. I miss the connection of the past but I always hope they're doing well in their changed lives. Unless they shit on me, then well, hopefully some karma is due

Sleepy-Eyed John March 16, 2024

:(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.