Fresh, New Winds at The Mental Institution in Elephant Architecture

Revised: 03/14/2024 6:15 p.m.

  • March 14, 2024, midnight
  • |
  • Public

I am finally rested after using some much needed Sick Leave. The new Mental Health Worker, A_, is quickly becoming a favourite of the more sensible workers. My first impression I had of him after we began getting to know each other was, “He’s one of us,” like Cleavon Little from Blazing Saddles. He seems to have high Emotional Intelligence and a good sense of humour. These are two key attributes to possess when working with the mentally ill. And, personally, my own English literature experience has come in quite handy. I tend to see, I was informing him, an actor or poet when the patient’s act out or I see a play taking place rather than a more negative, or fatalistic light. Actors and poets out of jobs or B-movies that come on late on the SciFi channel. Last night, Mr. E_ and I had the talk with A_. Occasionally this happens and we sit around and tell stories about the patients and their histories, plus, our own experiences working with them. Being creative, as most with a good sense of humour are, comes in very handy with Mental Health. And A_ is quickly catching on. The more lucid patients do still have the natural urge to be liked, and finding their quirks somehow amusing in a kind, brotherly sense comes in handy. Laughter is a universal language. The average worker has a difficult time dealing with the patients when they begin raving and jabbering about nonsense. It freaks the average person out. Personally, I find myself enjoying the insanity sometimes in my boredom. My creative writer mind clicks over and I am engulfed in the nonsensical world the mentally ill are attempting to convey. I could put Patient S_ in a sophisticated suit, put him on stage and tell the audience he was an eccentric poet and the audience may never know the difference. I’ll be doing my checks and passing by his room and overhear his very serious conversation over an imaginary phone that goes something like, “The President has ordered a banana by airplane for his elephant!” and I am transported to a very amusing hallway in the White House. But that is during his less lucid moments. Generally, he reacts well when you work with him on simple tasks like doing the laundry or sometimes just making sure he feels less alone, has a support group of folks who care about him and he’ll snap into a much more social persona, like I said, sometimes eccentric and hilarious with intent to be so, and to be liked. I honestly feel that Patient S_ would thrive in a Group Home setting with someone working with him. Sometimes I feel that his creative, eccentric qualities are mistaken for schizophrenia. He has on multiple occasions spoken more reasonably than some of the actual Staff there. That is a trip to experience: when the mental patients speak more reasonably than the powers that be like a voice of reason in some cases. I have personally noticed that he will snap out of his less lucid moments with attention and Quality Time. His less lucid times are harmless and remind me more of my little brother, as children, playing with his imaginary friends or stuffed animals.

The murderers we tend to are an exceptionally interesting anomaly. They tend to be the best behaved, the cleanest, quietest and most at peace with their predicaments. R_ is a personal favourite. I make it a point to say good morning to him during my checks. He has a kind, gentle disposition and reminds me of the Alabama, country, huntin’ and fishin’ good ole boy I have taken up with in other travels of mine throughout the South. I didn’t even have to read his file and one morning he confessed to me his crime. He very solemnly, and calmly admitted to me that one day, in his early 20s, he walked into his grandparents home and bludgeoned his grandmother to death with a driving iron. I was slightly a-taken a-back to his blunt yet accepting-of-consequences confession. Back then, I was still sort of shocked and uneasy that I would be spending my days in a room with these folks without any restraints between us just like talking to someone at a high school reunion. Thrown off, I asked, “W…w…was she abusive?” and he replied calmly, “No, she was a nice lady. I had a psychotic break one day”. He has been institutionalized since before I was born. We talk about music like AC/DC, and a few mornings ago he showed me pictures of himself hunting and fishing back then with his wife who reminded me of my ex-girlfriend’s mother in those Alabama 80’s styles with their lives so fresh and new set out before them so similar to my other friends down here. Someone I could see myself going camping with on the beautiful southern Alabama State Parks. He showed me a picture of his daughter who is out there somewhere who reminded me of my own ex-girlfriend from a similar place in time.


Last updated March 14, 2024


TL March 14, 2024

I don't have what it takes to be in that environment. I get spooked very easy by people.

Zampano TL ⋅ March 15, 2024 (edited March 15, 2024)

Edited

There is nothing wrong with that. That is partially why, in my beliefs, society created places as such. The average person out there couldn't handle a lot of these folks. They are sort like folks who don't fit the mold or simple folks whose family don't have the money to take care of.

Personally, I've tangled with plenty of people who should probably be locked-up but their families had money to buy them out of trouble, have position in society, or can get them good lawyers.

Actually, one of my last tangles with a "rich-kid" in the last Marriott I helped open is what scared me into this job. He was sending me pictures of his automatic weapon, a whiskey drunk whose rich Louisiana based family made sizeable donations to the police during his 4 DUIs. The conflict was based in my sending a text to the wrong number (his) when I was trying to send it to my friend from high school who was getting married. It was all very strange. We were sort of friends and had a lot in common but he needed psychiatric help. I'm safer at the Mental Institution than at the Hotel I was working in.

TL Zampano ⋅ March 16, 2024

My friend's ex was something else. His parents were well off and this guy should have been locked away. He has episodes. One of which, a SWAT team had to get involved.

That story reminds me of another one, slightly off-topic. A friend of mine had a friend who decided to become a breatharian. He stopped eating and had a psychotic episode where he tried to harm his family. The police had to shoot him dead. Breatharians blame that on parasites.

Zampano TL ⋅ March 16, 2024 (edited March 16, 2024)

Edited

I would recommend keeping a good distance from that family. If you do happen to come in to close proximity be sure to give them Empathy, Attention and Respect (the E.A.R.s method), say things like "I'm on your side", or "Forget about it" over any disagreements.

I find it important to remember that humans have 3 basic emotional needs or stages: first, we seek to be Loved. If we are not loved then we seek to be Respected. If we are neither Loved nor Respected then we will seek to be Feared. Your Breatharian friend looks to me like he took drastic measures to find Respect but you and I both know how the average, mass culture handles extreme and "different" lifestyle choices. And so he sought to be Feared.

When I first began my Yoga/Vegetarian lifestyle I tried Rawism a few times. It felt great and I loved it, however, during Thanksgiving my family didn't return the Respect I thought I deserved. I was seen more as a problem, or a pain when it came to preparing foods. I was rejecting family traditions to them. Where, my views, for myself, were that I was making a better choice and taking on a more spiritual journey. This where Support Groups for any choices one makes out of the norm are very important. My family have finally came around to the idea over many, many years and Thanksgivings (Plus, my little brother developed Sylliacs which made dietary diversity more of a necessity rather than some radical lifestyle choice), and they are even making more Plant-Based choices these day.

LewisWood March 28, 2024

Confronting such things requires a nuanced approach rooted in self-awareness and professional guidance. Collaborating with anxiety treatment ensures tailored interventions that cater to individual needs, fostering a sense of agency and facilitating lasting emotional equilibrium.

Jannette01 2 days ago

At the forefront of innovation, the Mental Institution in Elephant Architecture welcomes fresh, new winds of change. Embracing modern approaches to mental health care, it pioneers groundbreaking methods to foster healing and well-being. With a commitment to holistic wellness, the institution partners with borderfreehealth.com to expand access to care beyond borders. Together, they strive to create a supportive environment where individuals can find solace and empowerment on their journey to recovery. In this collaborative endeavor, the institution redefines standards, ensuring compassionate care reaches those who need it most, regardless of geographical constraints.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.