Lots Going On. Some Teasers... in These Foolish Things

  • March 11, 2024, 8:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. I think I’ve decided to try and do one volunteer event per month. This month, I volunteered at a huge, HUGE multi-day convention that happens in my city every year. So many amazing, successful, famous people come here to speak or perform, and it essentially takes over the whole downtown area. Now, volunteers are supposed to work between 30-40+ hours during this fest in order to reap the benefits of being able to attend a bunch of the events, but I ended up only volunteering 10 hours (all day on Saturday) because I just said that it was the only day I could do it. Plus, I didn’t really know what to expect from this event and I thought it would be a great way to check it out and see! They let me do it, so…okay! Seems like there were not enough volunteers to go around on Saturday morning because there were only two of us working a gigantic ballroom for most of the day. The woman I worked with was sassy as hell, probably a little older than me, and when I started asking a million questions before the crowd showed up, she told me simply to go with the flow and don’t worry about it. So I didn’t! It was kinda funny - we were not great at crowd control. But 10 hours is a long time to watch a door and count heads. I’ve learned a lot and might not volunteer for this event again now that I know some of the inside scoop. Still, fun stuff and GREAT fun talking with folks! That was my tease for writing more about a monthly volunteer plan.

  2. My big boss came to town again. This is the one who came to town in December and worked with me at my place for two straight days. As he’s still without a new assistant, he didn’t have his days straight. I thought I was going to be working with him the Saturday before last, but he ended up only having some time on Monday. Well, that’s better anyway, ya know? This time, instead of coming to my place, he (thankfully) asked me to come to the hotel where he was staying. Fine. Great! He was staying in a beautiful boutique hotel in the middle of everything hip downtown, so I was happy to head over there. I was looking forward to maybe sitting in the cafe or a little corner of the lobby lounge and working together. Little did I know, and before I knew it, I was on the elevator with him and GOING TO HIS HOTEL ROOM!!! Y’all. Come ON. But I sucked it up and walked inside and there we worked for hours while he cleaned out all of the drinks and snacks in his (non-alcoholic) mini fridge! And the room was just torn apart. I know that some people love to trash their hotel rooms because they’re traveling, but ughhhh. I can’t stand to be in a messy hotel room. There were pretzels on the floor. And he had a “charity pile” of stuff he was going to leave in the room (a backpack, a pair of jeans??!). The bed was halfway made (which made me feel weird putting samples on the bed and working from there like it was a table), and I didn’t even peek into the bathroom, because…no. I would be mortified to have anyone visit me in a hotel room that I’d made so grubby. But he was clearly oblivious. AND he’s also a diva, so he needed to change rooms to a suite and couldn’t figure out where things were thrown. By the time he needed to move rooms, I needed to go anyway, so…lucky me for getting out of there. WTF. That was my tease for writing more about work peeps. Need to introduce the whole team!

  3. Funny thing about Moondoggie (from last RAD entry). He messaged me when he got home from our beautiful boat excursion, telling me again what a lovely time he had. And then he messaged me again first thing in the morning wishing me a good day. THEN he sent a group text to me and a woman he’d talked about introducing me to while we were on the boat. In fact, he set the two of us up to meet! This person is going to be a fantastic connection here in town! I’m grateful that he connected the two of us… but then, I never heard anything more! For days! And I even followed his last text up with an article and asked him how his coffee shop was doing during the HUGE convention. Nothing but crickets. He left me on read! That was my tease for getting out there and getting more RADs…who FOLLOW UP! And yes, I know, I know. I wasn’t that into him. But it was only a first date!

  4. I need to get going because I have to get up extra early. I have to get my China call in extra, extra early (6:30am!) because I have to go to the dermatologist first thing. I found another spot that looks like trouble… and THAT was my tease for writing more about all of my skin issues - definitely more to follow!

I know the feng shui is off with this entry, but I gotta run for now. Maybe I’ll come back and clean it up in here like I wanted to clean that hotel room! Gah!

G’nite! xo
GS


bobbi01 March 12, 2024

The time for him to move to the suite was before your meeting. He really is an odd one. I've said it before but lordy boys are weird.

Complicated Disaster March 13, 2024

Your boss wrong on SO MANY levels. Expecting to work at your place? Expecting a Saturday meeting? Expecting you to go to his hotel room? I'm sure he's just oblivious, but still! Xx

plushcreep March 13, 2024

Boss Guy is completely 100% clueless. How he manages to run a successful company is a complete mystery to me.

WhatDreamsMayCome March 18, 2024

I hope the skin spot is nothing serious.

Serin March 22, 2024

When you're having someone in your space, you make it presentable. And when it's a hotel room, there's little excuse for all that much chaos.

Hope the skin spot appointment was boring.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.