A couple links and maybe a bit more... in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 10, 2024, 11:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I found an Aussie public broadcasting show that focuses on politics in the U.S. via friend Four.

https://www.youtubThie.com/watch?v=IiMjg9Yt060

It’s called Planet America.

For what it’s worth I’m willing to give Australians and New Zealanders the right to vote in our elections. I trust their motives. I offered the same right to vote to Canadians a few election cycles back, but they never picked it up.

I watched Biden’s State of the Union speech a few days ago. I rarely watch any Presidential speeches. I don’t have tv, remember? So I have to use up precious internet to watch that kind of stuff. I thought he did quite well. I don’t know if I like having a President that we are always evaluating for how well he’s doing, but I guess that’s where we are.

A little closer to home is the Lansing bridge. I’ve posted pics of it before. I might have a few on my phone but I’m not going to go look for them. It’s a pretty bridge leading from a small town in Iowa to Wisconsin where there are only small towns and none at the exact other end of the bridge.

The happy thing about the bridge is that the new one has been designed to resemble the old one. If you’ve got some time to waste, you can look up the whole story on the Iowa Department of Transportation website.

https://iowadot.gov/lansingbridge/Images-and-Video

Take a look at the comparison between the current bridge’s foundation and the new one’s. Take a look at the tab New Bridge Design and Overview.

Today is a sunny Sunday. I have no plans. Jim had said we might go somewhere today - not across the Lansing bridge, semi-sadly. So I could take a bath and wash my hair and dig up some clean clothes.

He and I had a talk today about what could/should happen if something were to happen to him. I mean we prepare for our own deaths, but it doesn’t hurt to think about the unthinkable, especially since we have the farm thing going.

I am sure you’re happy to hear that I have given up my Diet Pepsi habit. It’s been about a month now. I try to drink water - what an original idea. I have a half liter Smart Water bottle that I fill from the kitchen sink faucet and store in the fridge. The main reason I have for quitting is the cost of soda. It rose a lot during the inflationary era and it seems to still be going up. I’ve quit pop in the past for periods up to a year or two, but I have always gone back. I like the cold, bubbly, sweet with a tinge of acid flavor, and say what you want it has no sugar. But I think I’m a better person without it. We will see.

Have a happy Sunday, a happy rest of the weekend, and a happy new fresh week. We started daylight time overnight so that’s an adjustment. I try to look on the positive side. Now the car’s clock and my alarm clock are right again.

Bye there.


gattaca March 10, 2024

That is a sturdy bridge! There are a few just like that in Northwestern Oregon along the Columbia river between Oregon and Washington – Logging country. Those bridges have to be strong for the logging trucks.

woman in the moon gattaca ⋅ March 10, 2024

It's closed now because it shifted. Perhaps/probably because of digging to put in supports for the new bridge. The old one is held up by timber pilings- there is a cross section comparison of the old to the new in that one section of the site that I mentioned.
DOT promises to fix the old one so we can back to using it.
Science is a wonderful thing.

Just Annie March 10, 2024

I give up my diet pop (Diet Dr Pepper or Diet Coke are my preferences) habit every other month. Water is fine and all, but it's so boring. My mother was a big water drinker, long before it was cool, and Katie and the girls are good about it, too. It's a struggle for me.

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ March 10, 2024

I know. I think about it quite a bit. It's such a nice self-indulgence and it doesn't really hurt. There I go. Jim drinks a lot of regular Pepsi. But that doesn't tempt me.

Just Annie woman in the moon ⋅ March 10, 2024

When I was first diagnosed as having diabetes, I was told the one thing you shouldn't ever have was 'regular' pop. But I've always preferred the diet stuff. Even with the artificial sweeteners which are supposed to be bad for you. We just can't catch a break. I'll be back to drinking pop in a week or two, sometimes I swear I give it up because I'm tired of hauling it. The two-liter bottles are the most economical, but they get heavy!

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ March 10, 2024

We could go on all day about diet pop. It's heavy and we have to take the cans back to redeem the nickel deposit. I have a BIG sack of cans to take in. I just heard that that the sweetener is not an issue. It is dangerous in such large quantities that we would not drink that much in a lifetime. I hear that from time to time and I believe it.

NorthernSeeker March 11, 2024

I looked at the bridge design and I thought the deck in the diagram looked like it had a higher crown to shed water. I'm going to assume the shoulders are added so that pedestrians and cyclists can have a bit more safety. It will be nice to have the wider lanes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.