It's only a fish in The OpenDiary (OD) Days!

Revised: 10/12/2014 4:29 p.m.

  • Oct. 24, 2005, 9 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s only a fish! :( - 10/25/2005

Watching channel 10 up-late news, and they are saying the bird flu epidemic could be upon us soon, but not to panic, but if the disease finds a way to be spread from human to human, up to 70 million people around the world could die.  Yes, well that’s not exactly pleasant news I wanted to hear lol.  I think we’ll be fine, just keep the quarantine laws in place.  What I don’t get is why is this happening now?  Bird flu.  How has it suddenly come about, when we’ve had thousands of years before now where this disease hasn’t even been heard of.  Scary stuff though, but I’m not exactly letting it affect me.  The day everyone rushes for TamaFlu tablets, then I’ll start worrying a little more.

I worked 12-9 today, instead of finishing at 5pm, cos of stocktake tomorrow.  I’m hoping they have it done before I start work tomorrow, but if not oh well.  I did all the preparation for dairy and Dan did all the freezer prep, which is good cos I hate doing freezer stocktake - diary isn’t as freezing cold.  There was a shitload of load to put away too.

I love Emma Bunton’s CD, all the songs just really hit my music buttons.  Oh god I said the word Button.  When Luke was over he goes to me, "Did I tell you hat happened to Button?" ("Button" was our pet Siamese-Fighter fish we had when we lived together.)  I immediately was shocked.  Something happened!?  He explained that he was vacuuming and the cord got wound around the table that Button’s tank was sitting on.  The table went up, Button’s tank went up, smashed on the floor, glass and water everywhere, and the table landed on top of her :(

The tears formed and I hid myself in the pillow.  I excused myself saying I had to go wash my face.  Whilst in the bathroom, I was looking at myself in the mirror telling myself, ‘It’s only a fish, it’s only a fish!’, I told my blurry, almost-bloodshot eyes.  I was so upset.  I think it was the fact I used to feed her and she was our pet whom we loved as our own, and we watched her grow up and it’s like she had her own personality, cos she did.  Luke thought it was sweet that I cried over her.  I couldn’t help it!  She was squashed by a table!  Oh gosh.  I remember looking at hte mirror thinking, "I hope he buried her and didn’t flush her down the toilet - GOD i hope he did!’.  I forced myself to re-enter the room and I apologised for my behaviour.  I asked him right out, I had to know.  He said that he buried her.  I asked, ‘are you just saying that to make me feel better?’ and he shook his head.  I do wonder though.  She had a good life.  I’m sorry if I’ve already mentioned this, but oh well, she’s in fishy heaven - lol, that just sounded weird.

Notes: --------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh thats sad, I’m sorry, hugs I can’t put it into words but I understand what yr saying. [^v^SuGaBaBe^o^] 10/25/2005 9:29:52 AM

a pet is a pet and getting attached is nothing to be ashamed of!!! sorry for you! [J HENRY] 10/25/2005 9:39:34 AM

A pet dying is nothing to be sorry you cried about. hugs Pets are as important to us as people, and it’s sad what happened to the poor thing. [Nesstwy.] 10/25/2005 9:43:56 AM

You are so sweet, I’m so sorry about Buttons, I’m sure she didn’t suffer(are we sure it was a “she”, the males are prettier, the females are plain)…take care…db [neotherwoman] 10/25/2005 10:09:08 AM

You know we be the first to get that silly crap lol
cause of death :Bird Flu
Brother oh well something to look out for people need to stop having sex with birds lol
I can hear that now. Like pople thinking AIDS came from people having sex with a monkey what rubbish..
Huggs Mermz
[Mermy] 10/25/2005 10:18:13 AM


Oh I’m sorry. Listen you; don’t ever feel embarrassed to show emotions of sadness; no matter how insignificant you feel others will think it is. If it’s significant to you, then it IS significant. At least, to me.

I’ve cried bucket-loads when I’ve made silly little thinkgs, (not even as a young child) and they’ve got thrown out or something. It’s easy to say ‘oh it’s only a drawing’ [~Wildchief~] 10/25/2005 10:36:23 AM

..but it never is.

Hugs, friend xx

As for Bird Flu.. holy crap. I’m almost shitting my pants right now. But then again, there’s nothing anyone can do, so why worry? But shiiiiit anyway. Plus, isn’t there a fluey thing going round at the moment? There is here in England! :S Everyone’s reaching for their hot water bottles and lemsip drinks.. [~Wildchief~] 10/25/2005 10:37:57 AM

That’s really sad.

We lost our dog this August. [Jeffaphonic] 10/25/2005 10:57:12 AM

a pet is a pet [LegallyGay80] 10/25/2005 2:08:12 PM

(so you’re right to feel bad!) [LegallyGay80] 10/25/2005 2:08:54 PM

You should not feel bad at all about crying…it was just a fish, i fish you loved and that loved you. You have every right to feel sad. Take care buddy, we are here for you.

much love [C-Dub85] 10/25/2005 3:20:09 PM

Awwwwwwwwwwww, so cute :) [CollegeDude84] 10/25/2005 5:24:33 PM

I’m so sorry… [broken.wings.] 10/25/2005 6:27:44 PM

Pets do that to you. They burrow their way in and become something more, something real in your life. I don’t know what I would do without my little dog Janky.

Its ok to cry for it. Us fags only have our small, disfunctional connections to call family. But, as you said, she had a good life, and a great family with you and Luke. Love is the greatest gift you can give…even to a fish.

Night! [yellow_bull] 10/25/2005 7:27:36 PM

[tisk] 10/25/2005 7:33:05 PM

If it isn’t Bird Flu it will be something else on down the road. Maybe we’re doomed. LOL

Ben [Taste The Rain Bow] 10/25/2005 7:33:46 PM

Yeah one of the biggest things I was upset about was having to leave behind the dog and the cats - they were hers and I couldn’t take them anyway. I still can’t look at others dogs or cats without thinking of them - still pretty upset.

[The_Blind_Archer] 10/25/2005 8:57:09 PM

viruses are a way of population control. [Prince Zidane] [p] 10/25/2005 10:26:32 PM

Aawww… I was traumatized when I accidentally killed my goldfish Raphael when I was seven… yup… trying to change the tank water and crushed him with the side of the net… poor little fish. [newbluechampion] 10/25/2005 11:48:49 PM

awww poor fish :(. Every year there is some big sickness that they say could kill millions, like meningicocyll (however the hell you spell it, between diseases and terrorist attacks the world will be wiped out soon, pleasant thought hey? lol. [SinderellaX] 10/26/2005 1:50:37 AM

That is so sweet that you cared so much for Button, she wasn’t just a fish, so its ok to be upset. You have Jake and I’s condolences we are so sorry for your loss.

Huggs!!!

[GardenBoi] 10/26/2005 6:27:23 AM

Sorry your fish died. I threw mine in the bin after he died. Rolled him up in newspaper, stuck it in a container then chucked it in the bin. I don’t like the idea of flushing fish down the toilet and I didn’t think it deserved to be buried so the bin seemed like a good place to go. [frangipani] 10/26/2005 8:01:34 AM

SOrry to hear about your fish! I would have cried too. Heck, i almost cried watching channel 10 news when they talked about the whales being beached…and that happens all the time!!

It’s funny how the birdflu has taken up so much of the news lately…all this fuss over something that ‘may’ happen. Although, i wish i had some of those tablets just in case!! [jessicah] 10/26/2005 10:06:15 AM

dont worry about the bird flu. For it to mutate into a strand that humans could carry and pass at the same time is almost impossible. But, i guess it is better to be safe than sorry! [Archer_Mage] 10/26/2005 10:35:27 AM

Theres no where better to be then fishy heaven. I wanna go there, it sounds nice! [hell_bound_heart] 10/29/2005 8:33:02 PM

I’d be sad too.

I lost my fish to my ex when we broke up. And I got all 8 of them over 8 years of going to the Ekka. So some of them were old. And it was this big aquarium :o( [Ezra_Medic] 10/31/2005 10:54:19 PM

awwww....its always sad to lose a loved pet. its hard especially when you were the one that took care of them the most. you had every right to cry. glad he buried him and yes i do believe he is in fishy heaven ;~) [PetiteAnge] [p] 10/31/2005 11:31:49 PM


Last updated October 12, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.