All of Us Strangers (indie film #2) in Indie Film 2024

  • Feb. 23, 2024, 1:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can’t remember what my first film was for this year!

Turns out I’ve seen (and reviewed) this director’s (Andrew Haigh) previous two films, 45 and Lean on Pete. I loooooved Lean on Pete.

This one has me gripping my date’s arms. My neighbor downstairs called it a modern Sixth Sense (this movie was much better- color, light, music). Of course, Sixth Sense was a looooong time ago, it seems.

I do love that this movie has a queer love affair.

A man (Andrew Scott) lives in an almost empty new apt building and another tenant (Paul Mescal) comes over, somewhat sauced, and flirts/invites him to an escapade of sorts. He says no, but a few days later takes him up on it. This movie follows their romance.

Meanwhile, parallel to this story, this man is writing a book based on his life experience and parent’s death from a tragic car accident when he was 11. He decides to visit his childhood home and finds his parents are living there. They welcome him in- all the while they know that they died years ago (this man might be upward to 40 yo). The movie shows the progression of their new relationship.

At some point there is a crossover of both stories.

This movie reminded me a bit of last year’s Aftersun (one of the actors is in both) and a couple years ago- The Lost Daughter. Haunting, gripping, emotional, just my type of movie.

I highly recommend this movie.

It feels good to be well enough to give a review and not just post a trailer.


Last updated February 23, 2024


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.