Growing pains in Site Updates

  • Feb. 23, 2024, 9:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey everyone,

You may have noticed, but the site went full panda around 4AM CST this morning.

This was a weird one — turns out the database ran out of space!
alt text

Thankfully it was easy to fix, we just expanded the server that hosts the database and we were back in action.

As a part of the rewrite, we’ve been looking into what’s going on with the database, as it’s unusually large for a site that’s made up of purely text. Take a look:
alt text

Now, the size differences between these aren’t surprising in isolation, it makes sense that there are SO MANY MORE comments than posts. That said, seventeen gigabytes of comments, even over 10 years, is pretty bananas.

We have a few theories about what’s going on, but there’s still some investigation to do. Cutting the size down means lower monthly costs, which is always a good thing.

Speaking of the rewrite, I’m happy to share that Buffy is getting close, and very soon (maybe even this weekend?) I’ll be posting a call for testers to check things out and put the site through its paces before we switch over. It’s looking really good so far!!

alt text“I see you are eating food again, father.”

<3,
-J


Last updated February 23, 2024


Jodie February 23, 2024

I wondered why the site was down. I am glad it didn't take days like some other sites do and they wouldn't even tell us what happened. Thank you for keeping us in the loop. By the way I would like to be one of the testers.

MissMeg February 23, 2024

Thanks for the quick update! You guys are awesome!

NorthernSeeker February 23, 2024

New verb...."to panda". Thanks for your work in keeping this site afloat.

thesunnyabyss February 23, 2024

You guys are awesome!

•kitkat• February 23, 2024

Thanks for the update. Y’all rock!

GypsyWynd February 23, 2024

Thanks for the update.
I get that same look from my cocker spaniel.

Meeks February 23, 2024

Thank you.

Lux Lunae February 23, 2024

I apologize. I write novels for notes. I'm pretty sure this is all my fault.

irate velociraptor February 23, 2024

Mochi, Mochi, Mochiiiii!

simple mind February 23, 2024

That is a crazy stat on the comments table size. My guess is someone has figured out how to abuse the comments privately for data storage.

simple mind February 23, 2024

Actually, the more I think about it, the less bananas that stat seems. I'll bet the system is chock full of private comment thread conversations that go on for DAYS.

Lux Lunae simple mind ⋅ February 23, 2024

Again, my fault. I'm scared I'll have character limits now :(

simple mind Lux Lunae ⋅ February 23, 2024

Highly unlikely. I bet they find a lot that can be cleaned up that nobody cares about (e.g. old spam accounts) and maybe compressing older archives which I won't get into the technicalities and bore you. Long story short, unless you're doing something wild like encoding images into base64 text streams in your comments, I think you are perfectly safe. :)

Lux Lunae simple mind ⋅ February 23, 2024

I am doing none of that techno wizardry, thank you for your assurances :)

Buffy Lux Lunae ⋅ February 24, 2024

No character limits coming as far as I know ;)

Walking Crow simple mind ⋅ February 24, 2024

For sure! I know I have comment threads that have lasted for days since the site was around. I'd happily clear'em out for the sake of the site. Although I know some of us have some from diarists no longer with us

sudare February 24, 2024

Mochi is cute!

Walking Crow February 24, 2024

Thank you both so much for all your hard work!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.