The (exciting) future of Prosebox in Site Updates

  • Feb. 14, 2024, 9:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey everyone,

A lot has been happening behind the scenes this last month or so, all of it SO, SO exciting, but before I get to that, I’d like to share a bit about what led up to this announcement and where my head’s been at lately.

Please note: you will start worrying halfway through the next paragraph, but everything is okay — I promise.

Alright, here we go. This latest round of back and forth with you all over my lack of communication and the overall state of the site caused me to pause and reflect inward. It’s long past time for me to acknowledge and address the elephant in the room: I’m no longer motivated to work on Prosebox. Now, let me be very clear: my passion, my love, and my respect for this community are as strong as they’ve ever been. But my motivation to do this work by myself? It ran away from home, and I can’t imagine that’s a surprise to any of you.

So, where do we go from here? Well, this leads directly into today’s announcement and some VERY EXCITING news about the future of Prosebox.

My self-reflection led to me finally taking concrete steps towards something I’ve been thinking about for a while now. It took us a bit to hash out details, but a week ago things clicked into place and we’re officially in business. I’ve brought on a partner. A partner, it turns out, who is an excellent software engineer and strategist. And a dear friend.

Everyone: I’d like to formally introduce you to Buffy.

Buffy and I have been working together on various projects for many years now, and we also happen to be very close friends. How close? Well, when I travel without Mochi (SCANDAL), he joins Buffy’s pack.

What are his internet credentials? Well, maaany many moons ago he ran one of the largest Roller Coaster Tycoon fan sites, and he tells me he’s also a long-recovered emo Livejournal survey addict. I think he’ll fit in around here quite nicely.

He does of course also have professional credentials, but eh. A love for surveys feels much more important to helping lead the community. And I’d like think that if he can be trusted with Mochi, he can be trusted with Prosebox.

So, what exactly does all this mean?

It means that, for the first time in several years, things are moving quickly in the world of Prosebox development. How quickly? Well, in just the last two weeks Buffy has successfully managed to rewrite almost all of the ancient (as in twenty five versions and ten years out of date) underlying codebase to use the latest and greatest that’s available.

Here are some work in progress screenshots he sent me this morning:
alt text
alt text

Clearly there are still a few bugs to work out (“14.635 hours ago” lol), but I hope you’ll notice that despite a nearly total rewrite of what’s under the hood, everything looks exactly as it always has (though that may or may not be a new background).

That’s where I come in.

You see, I’m not going anywhere. While I may not have passion or patience for hiring developers, tracking progress, chasing bugs, etc etc I still very much have a passion for communicating with all of you AND for the Prosebox roadmap we all developed together years ago. New features and changes will roll out as they always have: with community input. My role, as always, will be to advocate for all of you and to guide things as they move forward.

I can’t tell you all how excited I am about all of this. I hope you can sense that in my words.

Buffy and I have been going through the old roadmap, and we’ve planned out a VERY ambitious 2024 and 2025 in terms of new features and quality of life improvements that you all have been asking for for years. Now, no promises on timeline yet! It’s still very early! But having seen the progress on the rewrite just over the last few weeks? Y’all, I’m really excited about the potential here.

I’ll post very soon in detail about all of the above including the tentative roadmap, and I definitely want to get everyone’s input again to ensure we’re heading down the right path.

I didn’t want to bring you all in the loop on this until it was set in stone and real progress had been made, but here we are. It’s happening. Omg.

More very, very soon.

<3,
-J

PS Happy Lunar New Year from this one:
alt text
alt text


Last updated February 14, 2024


GypsyWynd February 14, 2024

Thank you, Josh. I appreciate all the work you've done keeping this site going. You've earned a respite, and I'm so thankful you didn't simply abandon it.
Welcome to Buffy! If you trust Mochi with him, he must be good people.
Mochi makes a fierce dragon!

Lucretia February 14, 2024

that all sounds very exciting, and if Mochi trusts Buffy that's good enough for me!

Jodie February 14, 2024

I think this will be really good and we will be better off for it. I love the way you actually tell us what is going on and what you are doing and going to be doing.
Question? if we have ideas for this site can we mention them like maybe a spell check?

•kitkat• February 14, 2024

You’re right. I did start to worry. But I’m excited now about the new things to come to Prosebox!

Meeks February 14, 2024

Thank you. 🤗

thesunnyabyss February 14, 2024

Thanks, keep up the good work!

TrippyNina February 14, 2024

xoxoxoxo

Azrael February 14, 2024

Thank you for everything!

janeanger February 14, 2024

Thanks for keeping us in the loop

Park Row Fallout February 14, 2024

Thank you for the communication! I am extremely pleased that this space continues! Thank you for the Mochi pics!

TellTaleHeart February 14, 2024

Well, when I travel without Mochi (SCANDAL), he joins Buffy’s pack.

So when do we get to see pics of Buffy's pack? This is critical info! :)

Camdengirl February 14, 2024

It totally makes sense to have a team rather than just one solo person!

Complicated Disaster Camdengirl ⋅ February 22, 2024

This is what I was going to write so I won't bother now!

simple mind February 14, 2024

But my motivation to do this work by myself? It ran away from home, and I can’t imagine that’s a surprise to any of you.

I just... I just can't relate to this at all... ;)

That's amazing news! PB was in dire need of a rewrite but I didn't think it would happen. Congrats on the new partnership, and please pass along my apologies to Buffy for any of the really bad and convoluted design/code decisions.

Firebabe simple mind ⋅ February 14, 2024

"I just... I just can't relate to this at all... ;)" I just gave a GIGANTIC SNORT when I read this - my dog came into the office to check on me. LOL.

simple mind Firebabe ⋅ February 14, 2024

Ha!

josh simple mind ⋅ February 14, 2024

He tells me he never wants to see the word "unify" ever again, lol

simple mind josh ⋅ February 14, 2024

Tell him that if it's any consolation, I have no memory of what that even is LOL. So he'll forget someday too.

idgaf_whatevs February 14, 2024

Hey... did Buffy ever have a Deadjournal? LOL... very very good news.. but, having new bgs to choose from would be cool. Hey Mochi! scritches ear

josh idgaf_whatevs ⋅ February 16, 2024

No, but I did back in the day

idgaf_whatevs josh ⋅ February 16, 2024

Did you Josh? LOL... I love DJ but it's gone to hell. :( Which is guess is apropos?

Justlovely February 14, 2024

Thanks for the amazing update. I really really appreciate how much behind the scenes work it takes for something like this, and so your willingness to find a way to keep it all working is so valued. Glad to know we're in good hands as you hand off some of the heavy lifting.

Adira February 14, 2024

Welcome Buffy! And thanks as always, Josh (and Mochi).

kmh. February 14, 2024

Thank you Josh for the update, and for all you have done and continue to do :)
Welcome, Buffy! Looking forward to the positive changes ahead.
As always - appreciate the transparency.

Reading_Blankie 📚 February 14, 2024

Yay! How exciting for you both! Thank you for keeping us “in the loop so to speak. Ear scratches to Moochi!

Firebabe February 14, 2024

Handling a site like this can really drain you, no matter how much passion you have for what it represents. Completely support the need to bring on other co-horts to give it a kick in the pants. All hail Buffy and his pack!

~ Agree with an above noter - that markdown needs TO GO. So !@#$% frustrating.
~ Ability to search for other diarists is probably going to be big.
~ Ability to search your own entries is another biggie

Thanks for the transparency and communication. This is gonna be cool!

josh Firebabe ⋅ February 14, 2024

But.. we do have entry search. I think you helped test it!!
https://www.prosebox.net/entry/search/

Firebabe josh ⋅ February 14, 2024

Ahh. We do, and I did....didn't I? Lord, I do not remember. There has been sooooo maaaaaany UAT scripts since then. Apologies for my senility. LOL.

Starhawk Firebabe ⋅ February 15, 2024

Am I the only one who kind of likes Markdown? Aww.

Firebabe Starhawk ⋅ February 15, 2024

I actually like Markdown as well, but for some reason the site doesn't always seem to compile it properly. Like, you should be able to have a bulleted list where each bulleted item is more than just one paragraph, but as soon as you start a second paragraph it immediately loses the indentation. I've tried going in and adding additional tags, but the site seems to ignore them...?

At any rate, the frustration isn't coming from Markdown itself, but in how the site responds to it. I guess I should have been more clear. THANK YOU STARHAWK, FOR LAYING MY INNERMOST DESIRES WIDE OPEN. 🤣

Rella February 14, 2024

I love this very much.

The Gal Who Gets It February 14, 2024

I hope you know how much of a difference you are making in so many of our lives <3

EchoSeven February 14, 2024

Great to see a new person on board! Thank you for keeping us in the know!

bobbi01 February 14, 2024

Awesome!

rhizome February 14, 2024

yas queen

Ginger Snap February 14, 2024

Yayyyy! Great job, Josh!! Welcome, Buffy! Let's do this!

Thank you soooooo much for not letting us sink with the boat!

Kristi1971 February 14, 2024

Thank you so much for the update!! Welcome, Buffy!! When I read that name, all I could think of (and still do) is Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Ha! Anyway, glad to have you aboard!

irate velociraptor February 14, 2024

Welcome, Buffy! Glad to have you! TBH, I only want two things from PB: easier picture posting, and the animal pictures to stay at the end of official communication.

Kristi1971 February 14, 2024

And I just remembered....if at all possible, I would really love it if the bar at the top (My Prosebox, Bookmarks, Comments) could also be at the bottom of the page. Sometimes, like now, I have to scroll way down to leave a comment on an entry only to have to scroll all the way back up to click on unread entries to get back to my list. If it were at the bottom, I would no longer have to do that. Just a suggestion for the suggestion box. :)

Anit February 14, 2024

I think we are all SO glad you are, above all, keeping us in the loop. Thank you for not abandoning us, lol.

AnOrangeZebra February 14, 2024

Thanks for the update!

Mr. Mofo February 14, 2024

Is it just me or does Mochi appear to be nonplussed concerning the castume?!?

sudare February 15, 2024

Thank you for everything!

Gonewiththebreeze February 15, 2024

This is so exciting!!!! Thank you for not abandoning us and for finding our little corner of the internet some help

Lux Lunae February 15, 2024

Exciting news. It's not always easy to carry on with the same project year after year. To have partnership in it helps because it makes it less monotonous and there is a desire to keep going. Thanks for this update and looking forward to seeing what will come :)

Ferret Mom February 15, 2024

This is such good news!

celador February 15, 2024

Yay!

Jinn February 15, 2024

Wonderful. I am glad!

Jinn February 15, 2024

Welcome Buffy !

Jinn February 15, 2024

Mochi is so cute!

Oswego February 16, 2024

This is fantastic news! Prosebox changes people’s lives for the better. It’s a treasure to be preserved for the ages, and you, Josh, made it happen, and continue to do so. Many thanks to you, and now Buffy as well, for keeping this site alive and strong for the future.

AppleGirl February 16, 2024

Good news! Thank you!

Asenath Waite February 16, 2024

All praise be unto Buffy, slayer of bugs, commander of code, righter of wrongs.

Mochi remains the most photogenic canine on the internet.

Walking Crow February 18, 2024

Exciting!!! I am so glad you are getting some much needed help! Thank you both! And welcome BUFFY! Mochi is absolutely adorable <3

FragileGlass February 18, 2024

Your little pup is so so cute! 🥰
Thank you for the update.
I’m so relieved to know Prosebox is staying!
🩵💙

abrawmclaren February 19, 2024

Hooray for you, Buffy, and the fabulous Mochi! I'm loving this announcement and can't wait to see what's in store for our community!

Ms. Fury February 20, 2024

your dog is adorable :) Thanks for the transparency, and finding new ways to breathe life back into PB <3

santa monica February 20, 2024

Great news! Appreciate your efforts and excited for the new addition to the team!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.