Backup Computer? in These Foolish Things

  • Feb. 7, 2024, 6:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t felt like working all afternoon. Spent the whole morning and most of the afternoon in meetings - from 8:30am (talking to China) until 2:00 (meeting with the Exec Team) - I sat here at my dining room “desk” talking to my computer screen. Ughhhh. I still hate WFH.

In related news, the team got this email yesterday from Inbox Nazi:

Hey everyone,

There have been some ongoing conversations that suggested now would be a good time to define the company position on computers, equipment, and internet access. Here is the basic protocol we have in place.

1. As a condition of employment, all employees are required to provide adequate computer systems that will enable them to do the job for which they have been hired with speed and efficiency.

2. All employees are expected to maintain their equipment in order to guarantee continuity of work and access should their equipment prove faulty, this includes having alternatives ready and/or maintaining a backup computer. The goal is to have a minimum of down-time with a maximum of one day.

3. As a condition of employment, all employees are required to maintain working internet with an adequate amount of bandwidth to sustain video conferencing and computing (50mbs is acceptable, but 100mbs is preferred).

If any of these conditions are not currently in place, please let me know and begin taking steps to remedy it.

I also want to acknowledge that the company has made exceptions on equipment in the past, but these will be the protocols moving forward without exception.

Please acknowledge receipt of this and let me know if you have any questions.

I mean. Really? I took all night to think about how to answer. I consulted legal websites on WFH. I tried to compose an email that didn’t sound like I was furious. I’ve never worked for a company that didn’t provide the tools needed to do the freaking job.

So this morning before we had a touch-base meeting, I told him that I received his email, but had several questions about reimbursement and asked him what he meant by “alternatives” and if I was expected to BUY a backup computer! And I also noted that most companies with remote employees reimburse at least a portion of their phone and internet.

When we had our meeting I told him that I’d never worked for a company that didn’t provide ALL of the equipment needed and he was…SURPRISED?! I mean… has this man ever worked for a COMPANY?! I kinda don’t think so!

He told me that the email was mostly directed at the guy who does all of our video production. Apparently, his shit broke and when that happens, we can’t churn out content, which is a good chunk of our bread and butter.

But he also said he’d get me an answer on reimbursement for wear and tear and other shit like that.

Y’all. I’m worried about this job. I’m worried about my security. I don’t know that the company really knows what is what and there is a risk that things could go sideways.

It’s time to start protecting myself again.

UGHHHH.
GS


bobbi01 February 07, 2024

Jeepers, I've never heard of that. It's ludicrous. It's also kind of discriminatory (ie you have to have the money to be well equipped to work there). Also power outages happen

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ February 08, 2024

All of this. It's bizarre that he'd be so incredulous! Shit happens. Also, my company is based in California where there are ALL KINDS of rules around this kind of thing, so it's truly shocking!

Fred February 07, 2024

I work from home and my employer provided a laptop (which they also provide all support for), keyboard, mouse, two monitors, docking station, webcam, speakers. Plus they paid for my desk and office chair and also partially reimburse Internet at $40 a month, That policy is way out of line!

ninakir88 February 07, 2024

that is weird. are they a new company or something

colder February 08, 2024 (edited February 08, 2024)

Edited

Apart from the generally wild nature of asking people to buy their own work devices, it's a really bad idea from a security perspective. You want people on company devices that the company controls, runs security software on, keeps up to date, can remotely manage and wipe and stuff. One stolen laptop or one "I shouldn't have clicked on that" and you can have a big problem.

Nash February 08, 2024

As everyone else has said, both the email and his reaction to your response is about sixteen kinds of wrong. He cannot possibly think it is strange for companies to provide WFH equipment. He is either a total dope or he is lying to you.

Complicated Disaster February 08, 2024

Whhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat????
I am NOT ALLOWED to use my own personal equipment for work! It's a massive security risk for the company! When I started I was given a whole WFH kit including phone, laptop, monitor, webcam, mouse and keyboard. This is the absolute minimum I would expect!!!
Also, I started enjoying WFH a lot more when I set up a dedicated "office" space so I had much clearer boundaries between "work" and "not work".
xx

Amaryllis February 08, 2024

Yeah that is ridiculous. I just go to my online company shop and order whatever I need. Swag, computer equipment, etc. I can even use my company card to buy whatever I want within reason so I can match my existing monitor or whatever.

Serin February 12, 2024

The norms have shifted somewhat. When I started, it was unreasonable to expect people to have home computers, but in the last few years, my experience was that companies did ask people to use home computers and home phones. That said, you are using your personal assets for work and by rights, you should be getting paperwork that says so as a deduction against taxes. I know the canadian form but not the IRS equivalent(s). But expecting an employee to keep a backup computer is clearly not a reasonable "personal" behaviour and solely business related, and therefore it's the business' problem. In theory you would go to the office and they should provide you a replacement or loaner.

The only business resources who are providing their own tools are contractors. Anything else leans exploitative. Not surprising, but even so, your unhappiness is justified.

All of which is to say.... yeeeeeesh!

WhatDreamsMayCome February 13, 2024

Good for standing up for yourself!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.