RAD: Dr. Speed Racer in These Foolish Things

  • Feb. 5, 2024, 4:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Name: Dr. Speed Racer

Introduction Platform: Bumble

Age: 56

Relationship Status: Divorced for a while (he said, but I missed it because of the background noise!). Two kids, a girl who’s 16, and a boy who’s 12…or maybe 14? Now I can’t remember.

Job: Emergency Room Physician and Motorsports Doc

Lives: Downtown in a super cool area

Length of Date: 2.5 hours

We Did: It was Sunday (yesterday) around noon. I was already downtown walking the dog. I’d had a great walk, talk and coffee with my friend Diane, and after she left to go look at apartments, I went on my merry way with the dog. I got a text from him asking if I’d already eaten lunch, and I hadn’t. I told him I was downtown walking the dog but if he’d like to meet somewhere and didn’t mind that I wasn’t dressed for a date, it would be just fine with me! So we ended up meeting and having lunch at a fun restaurant on the semi-enclosed patio.

He Looked: So…the guy is a pretty eccentric intellectual. He appears kind of mad-scientist-y to me in that crazy brilliant surgeon kinda way. You know how I loooove my doctors, right? And this guy had that energy that I find oddly compelling. It was a chilly-ish, blustery, partly cloudy day, so it was kinda warm and kinda cool all at the same time. He wore a black wool blazer over a sporty red shirt, jeans and cowboy boots. He’s semi-flashy, which is an orange flag to me now that I’ve dated so many peacocks (and you see where that’s gotten me), but there was a good bit of nerd in there too, which is a green flag.

I Looked: Hm. Well, I had on walking/workout clothes: legging, running shoes, a packable down jacket. And I had Martini with me (in her adorable fleece jackie!). I had the foresight to put on a little brow pencil, mascara, cheeks and a light lip since my walk and talk with Diane was a social event and we were meeting publicly in a pretty social spot for the weekend, but I definitely was not dressed for a date, let alone brunch!

Convo: Fairly fascinating and kinda all over the place. We rapidly moved from the get-to-know-you questions (where do you live in proximity to where we were, family stuff, marriage, kids, upbringing, etc.) to medical stuff and crazy ER experiences and cars/motorcycles, travel, a little politics and a tiny bit of religion.

High Point: We had a fantastic rapport. It was kind of cool to see him say hello to a very important looking man who happened to be walking down the street and noticed him sitting with me on the sidewalk patio. After he sat back down, he told me that the guy was one of the most influential people in medicine in this city and that he was actually kind of nervous saying hi to the guy!

Low Point: Not super attracted. Not detecting a ton of chemistry

How It Ended: He looked at his watch every once in a while, and after a few hours told me he had to go and check on his kid. He gave me a European couple of pecks on the cheek and said he had a great time meeting me and we should do it again sometime.

Chances Are: If he asks me out again, I’ll go. Yes.

Date Rating: B


bobbi01 February 05, 2024

If you had fun I wouldn't worry too much about chemistry at this stage.

Fred bobbi01 ⋅ February 06, 2024

I agree.

Serin February 05, 2024

Good enough that you'd give him more time. Not too shabby. Maybe the chemistry will gel.

Complicated Disaster February 06, 2024

Good enough for a second date sounds good to me! xx

ninakir88 February 10, 2024

how do u feel about the younger kids though?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.