Early February Check-Ins in These Foolish Things

  • Feb. 3, 2024, 8:07 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

75 Hard Check-in: End of week 6 of the 75 Hard program. Essentially, it’s two workouts a day (one of them has to be outdoors, and that’s when I walk the dog), a progress photo daily, read 10 pages of personal development book (struggling with this for some reason), 75 oz water (the “rules” say a gallon, but that’s honestly too much water for me, medically speaking), follow a diet (can be any diet, no cheat days!), and no alcohol. The alcohol thing has been super easy now that I have a low-stress job. The progress photo comes in the morning before my first workout (which is always a YouTube video of either a cardio workout or a strength training workout for 30 mins and 15 mins of a stretching video). I am 6 lbs down. I feel like I had a slow start in the beginning because I couldn’t figure out my diet plan. Eventually I figured out a good plan for myself: try to get 80+ grams of protein while maintaining a calorie deficit. I’ve never tracked my protein before, so this is a challenge for me and much like a puzzle. Like, I could probably get 90+ grams of protein, but I would bust my calorie deficit, so making the protein thing work while avoiding red meat? It’s been interesting. But it’s working! Four of those six pounds came off after I figured out the protein thing. The other stuff? I’ll have to create a whole entry around this because I realize now that I have a lot more to write about! Coming soon…

Work Check-in: Y’all. It’s the best of times and the worst of times. I have got to figure this out! I have too much freedom working remotely and need to reign it in somehow. I don’t know how studies show that working remotely increases productivity, because I have ADHD or something. I also know that this comes from a lack of structure within the company. They are depending on me to create the whole product process, and I’m doing it! Maybe this is the thing…there are ZERO processes in place, so everything that I create is met with wild enthusiasm and praise. Those are the best of things. The worst of things is that I worry - what if I’m missing something crucial? I have always had a team to work with and I’m on my own here and I’m afraid the whole thing might come crashing down on my shoulders. Still, I can’t believe how much my stress levels have dropped since leaving The Cutie Pie Company! That place turned me into a stressed-out, manic alcoholic and The Cool Cat Company has gotten me cool and calm. Now to tackle the “collected” part. I bet there is a personal development book that I could read that would help me with this PLUS help with my 75 Hard challenge above. QUICK UPDATE! I just purchased this book for my Kindle. So, I can get to reading my 10 pages right away!

Love Life Check-in: Meh. What can I say? Had a guy ask me out for yesterday, but we couldn’t make our logistics work out. I know this is a numbers game and I just have to up my effort a bit. Maybe that productivity book will help. I do want to mention something that I think is..I don’t know. Is this weird that I still think so fondly of my ex who cheated on me? Listen to this: a girl I follow on Instagram posted something about Groundhogs Day yesterday. And she was asking if there was a day in your life that you wish you could repeat over and over and the thing that popped into my mind IMMEDIATELY was when SexyPants proposed to me on an early morning walk through a vineyard in Napa. I thought about how amazing the day was and how thrilled I was the whole day. I could relive that feeling over and over and over again. Is that weird? That guy was a horrible person, lying and cheating and ughhhh. But that day was pure, pure bliss. I feel this cognitive dissonance about it. But man, ignorance, amiright?

Friendship Check-in: Gotta work on this too. I haven’t been giving this a ton of effort, but I do have my new friend, Diane, who I’m walking with tomorrow. We’ll end up going for coffee too, I’m sure. I know this is somewhat similar to the numbers game with the love life. It’s about making the effort. OH! I did sign up to volunteer at an aid station during the city marathon this month. Maybe that will make me some new friends? And give me some inspiration!

Mom and Dad Check-in: This is a lot. It feels better because their doc visits have slowed down a little and they’ve finally hired a cleaning person to help keep their place liveable. But they need so, so much more than that. My bro and SIL have stepped up their game and I’m grateful and have backed down a little, but every day is a little more decline. I am planning to visit them in a couple of weeks after I get my 2-year colonoscopy later this month. But yeah. It’s still hard and heartbreaking. I call every day. I’m glad I check in, but it’s so hard to hear sometimes. Still, it’s good right now. Until it’s not.

Okay, more later, but I need to get my move and groove on!
Love you!
GS


bobbi01 February 03, 2024

The positives definitely out weigh the negatives here. I like that for you.

Athena February 04, 2024

It’s not weird that you have cherished memories of SP.

Complicated Disaster February 05, 2024

To me the benefits of remote working are peace and quiet, lack of distractions, a better working environment and the flexibility to get my work done around life, rather that vice versa.
Give your parents a hug from me please!
xx

pandora February 05, 2024

I am more productive at home than in the office for sure, but as an admin, I have more hours in my day when my boss doesn't see me to give me things to do that he does himself when I'm not in his line of sight! I read that Stolen Focus book last year too, it's not necessarily a productivity book, more about unplugging, but I enjoyed it. Better than Before by Gretchen Rubin is also a good one that would be easy to read 10 pages a day.

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ February 05, 2024

Ohhhh! Thank you for the book recs!

Hahah, I know what you mean about being in the line of sight.

Serin February 05, 2024

It's not weird. It seems really good that you can find good and memorable moments instead of piling the whole relationship into a dumpster and setting it on fire.

And work from home is a challenge unless you have structure, either from the work or from your own self-discipline. Too long between deadlines definitely makes things harder because it feels like there's time to ease back.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.