Twitter: Controversy in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • Oct. 9, 2014, 6:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ll write a political article about this soon but… you know how feminism is on the rise in social media?

I’m all for feminism. I think the genders should be treated as equals and have no +/- that is uniquely pro or anti. That being said… we need to shift how we discuss things. Guess what.... women can be the perpetrators of domestic violence. Women CAN sexually assault men. It isn’t “pro feminism” to say “And we need to stop all these men from committing rape.” It is pro-human to say “We need to stop rape.” Blaming a gender diminishes the outliers. I get it; fight the majority who cares about outliers.... well, do you know why we don’t have reliable numbers on how many men are beat by women? Because “it doesn’t happen.” Domestic Violence is a silent, often invisible issue to begin with… marginalizing an entire gender on behalf of feminism.... not okay.

Also… there are a lot of social situations we need to fix in order to truly be Pro-Feminism. I am desperate for a Pro-Feminism world so don’t get me wrong. I want our world to treat gender the way we treat hair color… really. But… ANY situation where one gender is favored and/or given special treatment hurts the ENTIRE gender equality fight. Women who walk into a bar with no cash and expect men to buy all their drinks? That hurts gender equality. A man who cries and shows his emotion being called gay and/or rejected as “too girly”? That hurts gender equality. Whenever you judge someone based on gender… -period-… that hurts gender equality.

And yes… some of this stems from the fact that I am sick to death of my wife calling me girly.


Last updated January 04, 2016


caramelchicken October 10, 2014

Totally agree. Plus people forget that domestic violence isn't just physical, there's a lot of verbal and emotional abuse that goes on which is just as bad coming from a woman as from a man.

Fawkes Gal October 16, 2014

She calls you "girly"? Oh fuck that fucking shit. That is very nearly literally (not really, but you get the point) making my blood boil now just reading that.

You well know my feelings on gender. People are people. I would never ridicule a man for displaying HUMAN emotion. I often say that I'm a "peopleist" when people bring up feminism. You will NEVER find me lamenting, "Oh men, they all blah blah blah," because it's all bullshit. God it makes me so fucking angry when people don't realize how damaging that, "Men are all like this, and women are all like this," bullshit actually is.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.