"Green Day went WOKE!" - The MAGA agenda in Those Public Entries

  • Jan. 26, 2024, 11:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

During a performance of “American Idiot” on Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve, Billie Joe Armstrong changed the line “I’m not a part of the redneck agenda” to “I’m not a part of the MAGA agenda.” Fox News stans and the MAGA crowd lost their fuckin’ shit, accusing Green Day of “going woke.” Because they understand “American Idiot” about as well as they understand “Born in the USA.”

And I’ve been sitting here, laughing my ass off, for almost a month. Like, y’all were okay with Billie Joe calling you “rednecks” for twenty years, but when he decided to spell it out, now you’re angry at him? Now you think Green Day is political? You think that’s a new thing for them?

…Tell me these dicknuggets have never listened to any Green Day songs besides “American Idiot” and “Basket Case”, and maybe “Welcome to Paradise,” without telling me.

Sweet Jebus, I knew about this song from the time I saw them live in 2005… By which time, Nimrod had been out for eight years.

Also, can I just point out: MAGAs have been railing against “coastal elites” for years. Green Day are from Oakland. And none of the MAGA brain trusts had a problem with a bunch of dudes from California calling them “rednecks” until they said, without nuance, “Dude, we’re not on your side and never have been,” on December 31st, 2023?

…I no longer wonder why Randy Newman’s “Rednecks” was so popular in the south, back in the day. (And even better, Randy Newman is from Los Angeles, which is the most “coastal liberal elite” city in the world, according to MAGAs. Make it make sense!)


Last updated January 26, 2024


Deleted user January 26, 2024

I used to work with guys that took a begrudging pride in being called, "rednecks". Now if you called them something similar like "stupid motherfuckers" they would get upset and more upset if you asked them to spell "motherfucker". I hope the youth can bring some sense to the USA. I think it is becoming a land in which some take pride in BEING stupid motherfuckers.

•kitkat• January 26, 2024

I can totally see the MAGAs getting all up in their shit because of what Green Day did. I, for one, cheered. Green Day is one of my original starter bands into punk music.

Park Row Fallout January 26, 2024

Yeah. Rage Against the Machine, Green Day, Tool, System of a Down... a lot of people (men especially, white men especially especially) fell in love with music and bands and groups and spent zero time comprehending the lyrics on any level other than "I sing along in the car." When it is spelled out for them- they say they were "tricked" because it sounds less insulting than admitting they never paid any attention.

simple mind January 26, 2024

It must be hard to be MAGA and realize most musical artists are on the other end of the political spectrum. "Well I guess Green Day is off my list now too... but hey didn't John Schneider put out some albums?"

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.