I need help/info/advice from a vet/cat owner... in 2014

  • Oct. 6, 2014, 3:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Back from the wedding, what a whirlwind. Glad it was the last one of the season and I’m just DONE!

My mom ended up bringing me, which was a fight with Chris but its just easier, plus the girls had my nieces bday party to attend… So it was just better for them to stay home.

The bride was scatterbrained for the most part, but it comes with the territory. I hate having to start at 7 am though, makes for a really long day for me. The weddings I shot last year have me starting around 11 am… this year all are around 7 am. Christ.

Anyway, my cat had something of a seizure while I was gone. I’m not entirely sure if thats what it was because I wasn’t there to witness. Chris called me Friday night and said he had a seizure. But when I got home last night and asked him to explain how it happened, it sounded different.

Do I have any vet friends? I live in a very remote location and we only have a vet here in town once a week or less. Here’s what happened… So Chris is at the kitchen table and hes doing some work, he hears something, looks over and the cat is flopping around like a fish out of water. Like, not quivering or twitching, but larger movements. He said it looked like he had lost control of the front/top end of his body. Like partial paralysis of his front legs. Using his back end to flail himself around. He was scared and disoriented as well. He took a few tries to get himself up into the window sill/seat area, and once he was there, he flopped over and urinated and defecated. A few hours later, he was fine, still scared and hiding a bit, but fine. Walking fine, hes eaten fine, everything seems back to normal like it never happened.

To me, what hes describing doesn’t really sound like a seizure… you know? Like his movements were too large, it almost sounded like something bit him in the neck or something or pinched a nerve or whatever… I really don’t know what to make of it!! So if anyone reading this knows anything about this kind of stuff, and info would be nice. I think I will still try and make a vet appt, but really, thats a lot of money for tests and stuff if hes acting normal and they don’t find anything out… Yeah, advice is welcomed.

Kristen <3


Hotaru October 06, 2014

My dog has the occasional seizures. They can vary greatly depending on what kind they are or what is causing them. The loss of bladder/bowel control sounds like a seizure thing.

When my dog has them she lays down and twitches just a little. She usually looks a little weak and shakey afterwards, but recovers quickly. Our vet said we could take her somewhere and have an mri and other expensive tests done, but she rarely has them. I think she has maybe one or two a year. Unless she has them during the day when we aren't around.

I'm no expert, but if it was a one time thing and she seems normal now I wouldn't worry too much.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Hotaru ⋅ October 07, 2014

Thanks, yeah I think I will wait and see what happens. He seems normal, and I really don't think the vet would be able to pin point a reason anyway.

Winter24375 October 06, 2014

was there stress prior?
our dog last summer scared us so bad when she had her one & only seizure to date. prior she had porcupine quills that we had to pull out & she didn't do very well so before she had her seizure, she got them again. (big stress for her). I took her to the vet spending $700 on tests etc. the vet couldn't tell me WHY she had a seizure just that all the tests came back fine. I called my dog trainer/friend who told me it was likely related to stress. I should have waited to see if she'd have another one. to date that was her one & only seizure & never had another encounter with a porcupine :)

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Winter24375 ⋅ October 07, 2014

See thats my problem, spending all that money to not get an answer. And then again, he may never have another. I don't know if there was stress prior because I wasn't in town, but I will ask my hubby

Winter24375 Mrs.Kristen.Canon ⋅ October 07, 2014

IMO I'd wait for another one first

born.to.dream October 06, 2014

Could have been caused by off balance ie something is up with his ears or majorly stressed out.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon born.to.dream ⋅ October 07, 2014

Hmmm... See that makes more sense about the balance thing.

Mr. Mofo October 07, 2014

How old is the cat?

One of my cats was very old and weak...until I killed a unicorn and fed it's flesh to my cat. Now my cat is fine.

Yeah that's right, I killed one of your precious unicorns...to feed a cat.

Well it sounds like there is nothing you can do until the vet comes to your town so I would just observe your cat until then. Take care.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Mr. Mofo ⋅ October 10, 2014

lol Unicorns are scarce around these parts, unfortunately.

Katie Kizzle October 07, 2014

I'm not expert but wonder if it was a stroke/mini stroke or something? Seizure is a good guess too but if he's fine now and has never had an episode like that I'd just keep an eye on him for now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.