Jan Twenty-Two. in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 23, 2024, 3:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sitting here watching the new Bachelor (not as much fun as the Golden Bachelor) and waiting for some comments on a sample prototype that the Head Cat should have in his possession by now. Ugh. Working with so many time zones is annoying. I am ready for bed!

It’s Monday night. I should have written some over the weekend, but I was pretty low-key and didn’t even get much of the work done that I was supposed to do after that obnoxious two-hour interview on Friday. I haven’t heard anything back yet from Crazy Cakes Cocaine Chick.

Saturday I was invited to dinner with C. He works with a young real estate agent and the guy’s girlfriend (they live together) wants to get into fashion, so he wanted me to talk with her. The dinner was at their place - which was a kind of run-down apartment close to downtown.

It was all fine, I guess. The couple was kind and gracious and served us dinner (that the guy’s mother, who is supposedly in the catering business, made…and it was cold, but whatevs.). And the conversation started out great - mainly me talking about how I got my career start in fashion and the things I did to get there and my suggestions about where she should start.

But then C. started blurting out all kinds of questions that I’d already answered and saying things that I’d already said. And it was happening over and over and OVER during dinner. Finally, I was like, C!!!! ARE YOU NOT EVEN LISTENING TO ANYTHING I’VE SAID ALL NIGHT?!

Turns out, he wasn’t.

I still feel like C. is some kind of angel since he looooves to help people so much. And he does! He is an amazing soul, but he’s an odd dude. He has narcolepsy or something. He doesn’t pay attention to so many things and he’s clumsy and cumbersome. I don’t know what to do with C.

But I also think I made him mad on Saturday night because I was just over his erratic driving and I told him to take me home. I don’t think he’ll stay mad at me, but I also don’t know how many “events” I’ll go to with him anymore. He’s odd.

Sunday was a cold and blustery day. I was lazing in my bed, thinking about how great it would be to just stay snuggled in my bed with the dog all morning.

But then I got a text from the pickleball league leader asking me if I was coming to pickleball at 10:30. Ughhh! But I answered back, telling the instructor that I was going to wuss out, but since he’d sent me that message, I’d be there!

I’m glad I went even though the weather was miserable. It was spitting sleet and freaking freezing COLD. Miserable. But fun to play pickleball with some new friends. I still suck at it, but sucking less every time I go play, so hopefully by the time summer comes along and it’s too freaking hot to play in the middle of the day.

Anyway. I’m done for the day. I haven’t heard back from Head Cat and it’s 10pm. I gotta get some sleep. I still get up sooooo early. If he messages me, I’ll relay the message to China…IF I’m awake.

Okay then.
GS


Jinn January 23, 2024

That was kind of a good / bad weekend for you . Darn . It’s weird how we can like people ( like C. ) but at the same time they can be pretty annoying. :-)

bobbi01 January 23, 2024

People don't think you realise that they aren't listening, but they ain't that clever. Glad you are OK, I saw a fb friend has tagged you in a post about a car accident

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ January 23, 2024

Isn't it weird? How can they think people don't realize it? And he's started to get kind of handsy with me too, which is also annoying!

Complicated Disaster January 23, 2024

Your weather sounds even more miserable than ours!! Glad you still enjoyed the pickleball! xx

Florentine January 23, 2024

I have friends like C. Maybe not in exact personality, but people I genuinely like and know are good souls, but who also take up a lot of my bandwidth if I let them. They’re my fun in small doses friends.

I saw a gorgeous pickleball set the other day and totally thought of you!

Ginger Snap Florentine ⋅ January 23, 2024

Yes, yes! Fun in small doses for sure!

Serin February 06, 2024

I really need to look up what pickleball specifically is.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.