Are You High? in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 20, 2024, 4:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I saw a job posted on LinkedIn several days ago at a company I was very interested in about a year and a half ago. In fact, I’d previously been contacted by a headhunter about a role that was my DREAM job and I’d gotten through two interview stages. Turns out they never hired for that role. I found that out today because I was contacted by the HR Director of that company and she asked if I could speak with her today.

So we had a call at 3pm.

Now, normally these calls are between 15 and 30 minutes long. They are introductory calls where HR just wants to get a feel for you to see if you’d be a good fit and to make sure the salary ranges are in line with the expectations.

So fine and good, right? I’d have a quick call during a break in my work today.

Turns out, the bitch talked nearly non-stop for two hours. I swear to god, I think she was high on cocaine. I’ve never experienced anything like it! I mean, we had a fantastic rapport, but I was barely able to get a word in edgewise, and the chatter was nearly frantic. And she kept sniffing like she was totally coked up!

By the end, I had to pee so badly that I took the phone in with me to the bathroom and did one of those pees where you sit at the very front of the seat and try to barely squeeze anything out so the other person can’t hear the tinkle!

She asked me my salary expectation so I asked her the range and she told me that she really didn’t have one because this is a newly-created position, so I told her that when I’d spoken to the recruiter, the budget number was $$$$$ [high-end salary for this role] and so that’s what I would be expecting for this position - especially since they hadn’t filled that other position.

Lady Cocaine said she wasn’t sure, but she definitely wants to make sure that I get to speak to the co-owner (to whom I’d be reporting) because she knows that I’m such a good candidate that she’s ready to draw up the job offer (YES, SHE SAID THIS!!).

I don’t know what to think, and I was angry that she took two hours out of my workday and now I’m going to have to make up for that lost time tomorrow. I should have done it tonight, but I’m not in the mood. I have this big strategy presentation and I’m just blocked. Next week is going to be a killer.

Anyway. Weird, right? A two-hour intro call?
Bizarre.
GS


CharminglyNeurotic January 20, 2024

Would this be working from home? Or would you need to move?

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ January 20, 2024

I'd be moving back to my previous city, and I'd be happy to do that.

ninakir88 January 20, 2024

Would you take it if it was offered? Sounds like she was impulsive

Ginger Snap ninakir88 ⋅ January 20, 2024

Most likely, if they offered me the $$$ I stipulated and their benefits package is even remotely decent (i.e. good medical insurance) and they relocate me, and everything falls into place. It's a bit of a long shot, but I have to keep my eyes and ears open right now and be very open to opportunities.

bobbi01 January 20, 2024

Wowzer. I'd very much proceed with caution.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ January 20, 2024

Yep. Cautiously optimistic for sure!

Amaryllis January 20, 2024

This might be it!!! Proud of you for thriving where you are but keeping you options open. 💪✨

Ginger Snap Amaryllis ⋅ January 20, 2024

Thank you! Let's see what happens!

colder January 20, 2024

Hmm. What a strange development. Hopefully that's not a look at the company culture haha

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ January 20, 2024

Yeah, I'm so curious!

Jinn January 20, 2024

I hope she wasn’t just high :-)

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ January 20, 2024

haha! I don't know. It was the weirdest interview I've ever had!

Nash January 20, 2024

Sounds like she was definitely high. If this person is your initial introduction to the company then... I would proceed with great caution.

Athena Nash ⋅ January 20, 2024

This is what I was going to say. This is extremely red flaggy.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ January 20, 2024

Red flags flying for this woman. But let's see what the co-owner has to say!

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ January 20, 2024

She's not my initial intro to the company - I've already interviewed with a headhunter and another Senior VP previously. And there's a LOT going on with this company. They are very established and well known in the home furnishings industry.

BUT YES!! The HR woman is a MASSIVE walking red flag!

sudare January 21, 2024

Sounds like a good offer. I laughed out at the pee part. You’ve got the technique!

Gangleri January 22, 2024

Lady Cocaine is an excellent nickname.

Ginger Snap Gangleri ⋅ January 23, 2024

Haha, right?

Serin February 06, 2024

1, that's insane.
2, mute when you're not talking and pee like the wind!
3, I hope they find the money for you. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.