Mystery, Sadly, Solved. in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 18, 2024, 9:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A couple of entries ago, I wrote about walking out of my apartment to see several police cars and emergency vehicles, and an EMS vehicle a building over from mine. I noted that there wasn’t a lot of mad commotion or police tape, but there was a lot of quiet activity.

Today my friend Lee called. She’s my neighbor that I said I have a little crush on a while back.

She asked me if I knew Margaret, a woman who lived in our neighborhood and walked her dog sometimes around the time we did. I said yes. In fact, we’d all bumped into each other a few times and said our hellos and made fun of our dogs together and had a few laughs. We all even talked about going to happy hour together.

Margaret was a very pretty, striking woman with a British accent. I never asked her much about herself just because we’d only see each other in passing, but in addition to letting our dogs say hello, I always noted how fashionably she dressed. This is more of a hippie town where people dress down, but not Margaret. She always had something on worth commenting about. My kinda girl!

Anyway, Lee went on to tell me that Margaret had passed away. And I was stunned.

She then told me that there were police cars and a whole lot of activity at her place about a week ago, and I said, yeah. I wondered what was going on. I didn’t realize that was Margaret’s place and that was HER!

I didn’t know!

And the final kicker.

It was suicide.

I’m so, so sad. I’m so, so sorry I didn’t get to know her better. I wish we’d followed up on our happy hour. I wish I’d stopped to chat at more length. I wish I’d known she was troubled.

I barely knew her, but my heart just breaks for what she must have been going through.

And what of her dog?

Ugh.

-GS


colder January 18, 2024

So sad. There is far too much of this today.

Jinn January 18, 2024

So sad. I hope she did not suffer and that someone took in her dog :-(

bobbi01 January 18, 2024

Oh no.

Complicated Disaster January 19, 2024

</3
That's awful.
xx

WhatDreamsMayCome January 19, 2024

That is such sad news.
So many people, so much loneliness.

World of Bre January 19, 2024

How sad

ninakir88 January 20, 2024

super sad

sudare January 21, 2024

Suicide is sad, I know… People’s lives end so suddenly.

Serin February 05, 2024

I'm so sorry. That's awful and sad.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.