Jan Twelve. in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 12, 2024, 6:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wish I could tell you what the commotion was last night. Was it a crime scene? Was it a (heaven forbid) suicide? Was it a MURDERRRR?!

I don’t know. And I don’t know any neighbors on that side to ask anyone.

I only really know my lesbian pickleball neighbors. And I’ll tell you why I keep referring to them as my “lesbian” neighbors:

For one thing, they make a big deal of being lesbian. I mean, they don’t talk it up so much as it’s the whole community they surround themselves with. And I’m flattered that they’ve let me into their circle…

But the second thing is, I think I’ve developed a little crush on one of them. Of course, I would NEVER act on it because she’s partnered up (and I think that makes me feel safe knowing she’s taken anyway), but it’s fun. I notice that I get giddy when I see her walking her dog, Ralphie. And I can tell she does too when she sees me. We both kind of run up to each other like kids - you know, when you’d see your bestie from across the other side of the recess yard?

And we’re giggly and smiley with each other.

I don’t know. I don’t even know if it’s something worth writing about, but it’s nice to feel that tiny twinge of butterflies. Ya know? I’m still alive!

Of course I am!

I think I want to start thinking about my vacation this year. My fun trip. It might be one big one or a couple of smaller ones, but I think I want to join a group of likeminded people for my vacation this year. Cooking school? Design somethingorother? Maybe a restorative yoga retreat? I don’t want to do any solo trips this year. I’m over those for now. I’m over being solitary.

I need to get this on calendar pretty quickly because my year is already shaping up!

Okay. I better get going. I need to clean up my workspace from the week and get ready for this long weekend. Tomorrow is Dad’s Bday celebration, Sunday is the ARCTIC BLAST, and Monday will bring a layer of ICE into the mix. Hooray.

Winter is finally here. Pfft.
GS


Jinn January 13, 2024

Butterflies 🦋 are good :-) Stay safe from the Arctic Blast 💥!

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ January 14, 2024

Thank you!

Complicated Disaster January 13, 2024

Crush crush crush :-) xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ January 14, 2024

I'm happy to have one! :)

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ January 14, 2024

I'm happy you do too! It's great having a crush! xx

bobbi01 January 14, 2024

Yup, they had me after Ralphie the dog! Hope you keep your electricity

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ January 14, 2024

EXACTLY! Ralphie is the BEST!

Lux Lunae January 15, 2024

Some of those yoga retreats look amazing. There is one that happens in south america that I would love to go to so much. One day soon my debts will be gone and I can think about beefier trips that cost more.

I've had a few crushes on folks who had partners. Never was it reciprocated nor did they know I had a crush. I like yours, it's so sweet how you two love hanging together and get excited about it.

WhatDreamsMayCome January 19, 2024

I'm waiting for spring.
Like Carly Simon sang: "Anticipaaaation"!
Make good travel plans!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.