Final Countdown in Fitness Fun

  • Oct. 28, 2013, 10:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Its the final countdown to my half marathon! I'm excited. I was soooooo anxious while I was training but my last long run- 12 miles- went SO well. I'm pumped now.

The secret to my success was Gatorade. I was running out of gas about 3/4 of the way through my long runs. So I started supplementing my water with Gatorade during those long runs and yayayah here I am now. They will be handing out water and Gatorade at various points during the half on Saturday so that's why I chose to try it.

Anyway, I hope I haven't taken it too easy last week and this week. My last long run really should have been last week, but I must have messed something up during my training so I had an extra week in there. I meant to throw a medium length run in there last week but the most I managed was 5 miles.

I'm excited to run. I think it will be fun. But I'm kind of looking forward to it being over too because I found a new strength training program I'm excited to try. If you Google Nia's Beautiful Badass, you'll find it. Great name, right? I downloaded the Beautiful Badass program, it has many different workouts to try, using simple techniques and real lifts- not a bunch of little poo poo bicep curls.

Sparky says he's going to get back to the gym again too. And believe me, he needs to. If you look at pics of us comparing 5 years ago to today, it looks like I sucked out my fat and gave it to him. Don't get me wrong, he hasn't gained enough for it to really be a problem, but its getting there. Its all in his gut, which is the worst place to gain. He's not the healthiest person either so he needs to get it back under control.

Plus, he has a gym membership that he's NOT using! Waster! At least I've been going to yoga every week and been using the treadmills.


lessoff October 28, 2013

it would take me like 6 hours to run 12 miles. LOL. maybe 4. good job, and im glad you figured out gatorade is what you need. i hear people eat gu or shot bloks. i know the lady who does my hair did an iron man and she was talking about shot bloks and how i need to try them (i dont work out for hours at a time though. so i think im good).

Deleted user October 28, 2013

good luck with the marathon!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.