Jan Eleven.* in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 11, 2024, 8:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Gah. I started writing an entry about some of the things I’m starting to like about working from home and then I was like, nahhhh. So many people have been doing this for YEARS since the pandemic and…BORING.

But work is interesting and I’ve requested my first biz trip which I’ll probably discuss in the strategy presentation I have to give in a couple of weeks.

Have I even STARTED this presentation, you ask?

Well, I’ve been thinking about it since about mid-November. But no. No, I haven’t even started.

Procrastination at its finest! I’m planning on getting a big chunk started on Monday. It’s MLK day and we have the day off, but the weather is supposed to be atrocious, and I’m praying that the electricity stays on so I can drink a bunch of hot coffee and tea and punch a bunch of it out.

And the biz trip isn’t even until March, but ohhhhh how I miss business travel!

Dad seemed to have a decent birthday yesterday. My SIL posted some pics on FB - they got him a cake and had a small party after their dinner. But oh, how he and my mom seem to decline every day now. I know I’m kind of obsessed about it and it shows here in Prosebox, but it’s really top of mind.

I talked to my mom on the phone tonight and she can barely hold a conversation. I know she doesn’t like to talk on the phone anymore (do you remember, we started talking nightly after my death scare in 2019 - I wanted her to make sure I woke up every day - how the tables have turned!). We get on the phone for maybe 30 seconds and she’ll almost immediately say, “I don’t have anything to talk about…I love you…bye!”

It will be good to see them on Saturday. My friend C. and I are driving to their area to take my dad to brunch for his birthday. Mom does so much better when we meet in person. I’m grateful to C. who wants to drive. We have discovered a mutual love of belting out 80s songs while driving 90 miles an hour down the freeway. This happened on our last visit to my parents’. It was joyous.

And then! On Sunday a cold front blows through for a few days. I need to go to the store sometime tomorrow and stock up on the basics. I am praying so hard to the weather gods to please make sure the electricity stays on. Maybe I should pray to the electric gods??

Okay, time for the last little walkie of the day with Martini. She’s lying next to me, curled up in a ball. This will only be for a potty walk and then we’ll come back in and I may make myself a foot bath and some tea and call it a night.

WHO AM I ANYMORE??!!!

Signed,
The Old Lady Who Lives In a Shoe

Update! Exciting update or Gladys Kravitz (Old People Reference!)??? When I took Martini out for our LWOTD (Last Walk of the Day), we may have stumbled across a crime scene. You tell me what this is: no fewer than eight police cars in the parking lot right next to my building, three or four with lights flashing; people walking around, but not frantically. No police tape, but an EMS vehicle quietly driving out of the parking lot. It’s been about 45 minutes since the ambulance left and all police cars still in the same spots. What’s happening? Why so many cops?? This event seems to be too fresh for even the Nextdoor app! I’m dying over here!


Last updated January 11, 2024


colder January 11, 2024

I wonder if I'm seeing this type of thing with my mom... she seems vaguely less "there" sometimes these days.

I suppose we the OD/PB generation are getting so adult we have to deal with adults things like this.

Your night of peace and quiet in the shoe sounds pretty nice to me :)

Jinn January 11, 2024

When I think about aging I fervently hope I keep my wits. My dad has and he is 90. I hope I got some of his genes. I want to keep my wits and the ability to care for myself.

bobbi01 January 12, 2024

Oooh where are you tripping to?

Complicated Disaster January 12, 2024

Sounds like the closed road I came across on Wednesday night :-/ xx

plushcreep January 16, 2024

Tara just barely started WFH for the first time ever a couple of months ago, so it's new and exciting to her, too.

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ January 17, 2024

Oh hahah! It's so weird if you've never done it before.

Serin February 05, 2024

I've done it for a while and I'm entirely certain I'd like to know what you see in WFH. There's plenty to learn.

How is your mother's hearing?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.