Jan Seven. in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 7, 2024, 7:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Skipped a few days there. Not much new, save for a couple of things.

Tomorrow I have to start digging into the “new” job in a much more meaningful way. I’ve been really enjoying not being crazed and stressed out, and I’d like to keep it that way, but there are a few things coming up quickly that I’m going to have to start really cranking out. Namely, the strategy for 2024 and what I’m going to be doing for the year at this company!

It’s funny because remember how I was kind of worried about Inbox Nazi being all micro-manage-y? Well, he’s actually not. Not at all. He might be kinda anal about processes and keeping my email neat and tidy, but he let’s me do whatever I want to do. I still have to copy him on all of my emails, and I honestly don’t care about that because my emails are showing him that I know WTF I am doing (for the most part, ha!).

In fact, on Friday I sent an email to two of my co-workers and told them that I’d found a detail that needed to be changed and explained why, and Inbox Nazi sent a reply back to me only, saying, “I love your attention to detail. You are a gem!”

Y’all. No one has EVER complimented me on my work like that! I didn’t even know how to reply back. All I could muster was, “Thank you. Just doing my job, but I know there are tons of details to work on!”

Alas, it’s not all sunshine and kitty cats at The Cool Cat Company.

The Cool Cat Company’s Head Cat sent me a text yesterday (on a Saturday) about something I’d sent him via FedEx and he wasn’t happy about it. I had to drop what I was doing (binge watching Divorce on Max) and reply back to him with a video response. Kinda weird, but…yeah. And send some messages to my Asia factory.

But I’m hoping to resolve all of that tomorrow.

The weekend was nice if not a little lonesome. That’s my own fault - my friend C. asked me to do something both Friday and Saturday nights and I declined. I just didn’t feel like getting up and out in the evenings. And that’s going to happen more and more often with the colder weather.

[Side note: I did go out with a fun, new girlfriend on the eve of New Year’s Eve and that’s a story for another time…YES it was an absolute fantastic time!! Spent wayyyy to much cash, but that’s also another story. ]

Saturday, I got up and did my workout and cleaned and organized my space - put lots of work samples where they need to go in the garage, did laundry…you know, the normal weekend stuff (actually, I did laundry on Friday, but whatevs).

Today, I got up and went for a really nice walk with another friend, Diane (whom I met through C. over the summer). We’ve had coffee before and done a few other things. I like her a lot - she has a lot going on and a lot of friends who come visit her from all over the world. You’d never know by her looks that she loves going to live music shows and trendy, scene-y events, and all kinds of happening things, but I’m happy to do things with her. She’s been on a weight loss “journey” (hate that word) for quite some time and we talked about how she’s now on Ozempic and how great it’s working for her. Y’all. SO MANY PEOPLE are on these weight loss drugs!! It’s blowing my mind.

And I’m over here doing 75 Hard.

It’s going well, but it’s just a whole lifestyle. Like I’ve said before, the good news is that I do a lot of these things already. The bad news is that it’s not a total lifestyle change for me so it’s going to take me MUCH longer to see results.

Anyway, one of those new lifestyle changes is that I’ve joined a Pickleball league! I did it because my neighbors were so sweet to take me to the Tennis/Pickleball center where everyone plays AND I got a Pickleball paddle for Christmas AND my neighbors then sent me a link where I could join a league with them!

Thing is, the link was for the Advanced Novice players and I didn’t notice the advanced part because I thought they were sending me a link to an easy league.

WRONG.

So today I was completely out of my league in the league!

I didn’t suck completely. I mean, I hit a few great shots. But I was clearly NOT ready for this group!

Luckily, the instructor/chairperson or whatever you call the person who organizes the leagues caught wind of my semi-sucking (ha!) and pulled me away as I was leaving. He asked me how I felt on the first day of the league - it was his gentle way of telling me that I’m not at this level yet.

BUT the good news is that I can actually move down to the actual NOVICE League with no penalty and just start next week!

I’m actually super excited about that. I’m going to learn the way I should learn and not be a burden on the others in my nabe’s league.

So, that’s where I’ll be next Sunday… back at the beginning.

Here’s to new beginnings.
Again.
GS


Jinn January 07, 2024

Cheering you on , whatever you do .

a girl thinking January 07, 2024

❤️

Nash January 07, 2024

What on earth is an Advanced Novice? I think anyone would be confused.

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ January 08, 2024

Right?! I was like, what did I sign up for?! I think it's a nice way of saying, these are the people who took classes and were naturals and they're ready for a challenge, but not yet good enough for Intermediate? They are definitely better than beginners like me!

sourapple January 08, 2024

Pickleball! I've been wanting to give that a try. I hope the league winds up being fun!

Ginger Snap sourapple ⋅ January 08, 2024

Pickleball is SO fun! I never really liked tennis (took lessons as a kid and younger adult), but this is so great for some reason. I'm not sure why I like it so much?

bobbi01 January 08, 2024

I so admire your spirit. It's so hard to makenew friends and look at you go,!

sudare January 08, 2024

Work is a big part of our lives, so I hope it will be sane for us in 2024!

Complicated Disaster January 08, 2024

Sounds like 2024 is getting off to a good start!! xx

Serin February 05, 2024

What a lovely compliment.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.