new light in 2014

  • Sept. 12, 2014, 1:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

4:19pm

So, I’m sitting at work but we’re not really open. I think that means I can do whatever I want, right? Especially since we’re like the owners? hah. I’ve mostly been catching up on entries, looking at recipes, and deleting junk from my e-mail accounts. Oh, and drinking coffee and reading all that unimportant stuff on yahoo’s homepage. That’s always fun.

I definitely had a little too much to drink last night. I mean I still wrote a really coherent entry [a sign that I’m not kidding about my ability to handle my liquor!] but my eyes were involuntarily closing and I was super tired. Like I should have gone to bed instead of playing on the internet, but I can’t sleep when I drink. My brain always has to settle down a bit before I hit the pillow. Hence: random entries!

About a half hour ago [or maybe an hour now; I’m distracted] I heard a loud truck engine and immediately knew it was CK. Which was confirmed when I saw that multi-colored truck cross in front of the window. A lot of trucks go by here, we’re right off the freeway exit, and my head always glances around to see what kind they are. But CK must have a very particular way of shifting gears, or it’s just that insanely loud engine, that makes it so I can always pick him out before he appears in my field of view. Or maybe I just look at every single truck to the point where one of them is bound to be him eventually. haha.

I’m not sure if he drove the neighbors to the airport this morning. It’s about 2.5-3hrs away and they were leaving at like 2am. I know that Mel had mentioned he’d be back and volunteered, but who knows. And I just realized that he was totally out of town all this time. I don’t know why seeing him didn’t trigger the fact that he’s back from his trip. I wonder how that went..


It’s much later now. I left work, stopped by the store, and had a lovely dinner.

As we were pulling up to the store, Mom asked if I’d go in with her and said that there weren’t that many people. The parking lot was rather empty. So I joked about how we’d only run into half the town [as opposed to the whole town] and of course we run into one of our neighbors right at the door. We stood right there in the front and chatted for a bit. Her baby girl is so dang cute. I was at the hospital right after she was born, so it’s crazy to see her all big now.

Then later we were standing around looking at meat and all of a sudden I hear someone say, “I think you’re following me now!” And I half-jump and turn around to see the BBQ guy standing right next to me and laughing. He was walking by the office yesterday when he saw our light on and stopped in. [He still does that strange lingering thing…] We were on our way out so he talked to us for a while. Joking about whatever. So that’s why he said something about us following him.

Although I was quick to point out that he’s probably the one following us around. He walked behind us looking at different meat and stuff. I asked if he was BBQing tonight and volunteered to eat the food. :-) He’s fun to mess around with. Eventually we split and ran into him again up front. He was initially behind us in line but ended up at the next register and waved at us. Joking about how he beat us out and stuff.

There were also two more of our clients in front of us in line. Mom talked to one, the other had a pair of sunglasses on and didn’t act like he knew us. We also saw our neighbor, but he didn’t see us, and another lady that knows Mom. Crazy.

I guess that does count as half the town though. You know it’s a long running joke around here that you can meet everyone at the store. That’s probably why so many people avoid it, including me most of the time.

At least I looked pretty decent today. I was wearing my new shoes that only cost me 5 dollars! New things always make you feel better. Plus I’m really starting to embrace this crazy mess of hair I’ve got. Like I want to figure out how to make it shiny and beautiful and be all girly about it. I’ve got the hang of putting a nice wave into it [the natural wave likes to go different directions so I tame it a bit]. But yeah.

Enough girl talk. ;-)

Too many distractions today. Tomorrow I plan to make a few dozen cupcakes for this lady’s surprise party on Saturday. I’m thinking chocolate, carrot cake, and maybe a rainbow style. My last few attempts at new recipes have sorta been a bust and so have my frosting ideas. I’m hoping these will turn out much better. I guess when you stop baking for so long, you kind of forget how your oven temperature/times work.

Actually, speaking of not doing things for a long time: I really want to get back into photography. I miss it a lot. But I can’t seem to find the motivation and/or enthusiasm for it anymore. I have pictures sitting in my camera from last year that I have yet to go through and print favorites. It’s been that bad. Like half the time I don’t even pop them into the computer to take a good look. That makes me sad.

I was thinking that maybe a new camera would bring me some motivation, but I really shouldn’t spend that much money right now. I know the next camera I want to invest in is going to be a good one that I really like, so it won’t be cheap.

There are a bunch of trips coming up. Plans to visit Seattle one last time before my brother leaves. Possibly going down to Dallas early to help him organize and explore. Then convention and the family reunion. Money’s probably better spent on all those things. Especially since I’d really love to go back to all my favorite WA spaces and that involves things like: eating doughnuts at Pikes, and meatloaf sandwiches, and brown bag, and calzones across the water. Basically it involves a bunch of food and the money needed to buy said food. hah.

Maybe what I truly need is a new point of view. A new perspective. To see things in a new light. I need an amazing sunset or beautiful ocean waves flowing over glittering sand. I have to remember what it’s like to stare at such beauty and have the ability to capture it on film.

Things to look into for the future, I guess. Work will pick up soon and then it’ll be another year and I’ll wonder where the time went.

rose.
10:35pm

[p.s. I cannot believe it’s been 13 years since I stood in my kitchen and stared at that television screen. Talk about where the time went. I’ll never forget those moments. rip]


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.