over a month?! jeez! in Not-So-Hum-Dingers

  • Sept. 10, 2014, 9:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Holy buckets, I haven’t written in over a month! I apologize profusely for my lack of keeping up with putting words into this thing.

I am grateful that life has continued to be full of awesomeness and that I haven’t felt the need to vent all that much, it just doesn’t make for a very interesting and readable diary, but I’ve been reading and noting my fellow diarists (is that still what we’re called over here on Prosebox?).

My “little” (he’s younger and shorter than me, but is built more truck-like than I am and probably has more muscle mass than I do) brother and his wife are expecting their first child due in April of next year. They’ve posted some ultrasound pictures on facebook tonight, and they’re making me well up a little. I just know how much my brother has always wanted to be a dad. They’re going to be an awesome parenting team just like Sezzie and I.

Work still rocks it. I’ve very recently discovered the wonder of using the tiniest smidge of vaseline to protect my hands rather than a big ol’ glob of moisturizer, and now I have absolutely no need for dish gloves. A couple weeks ago Russ thought that my using a stainless steel wool was wearing away the aluminum poached egg pan, so he had me stop using it and had me use these weak-ass aluminum scrubby things that break apart after one scrubbing of the burnt-protein-covered cooking vessel. Those quickly fell apart, and Russ replaced them with a stainless steel wool that does a really good job (not too different from what I had been using in the first place, but who am I to complain or worry about it). It was just a weird round-about way to try and shake things up. At least I built some solid forearm muscles using the crappy aluminum scrubbies for a couple weeks.

Meredith flaked out yesterday and didn’t even call in until the afternoon, but she was there today. I think it’s really lame how she’s taking advantage of Barb and Russ needing to have another “certified” cook and acting like she can set her own hours based on when she’s hungover or still drunk from the night before. I know her total hours have been cut because she’s so unreliable, it’s just annoying to see somebody squandering such an awesome opportunity to contribute to a local treasure of a business. All I can do is keep kicking ass at my job, and being the positive person that I am.

This week is moving along at a very steady pace, and I’m loving every minute of it.


TellTaleHeart September 11, 2014

Heh... I am the oldest, but also shortest, of 5 kids. I like to refer to my brothers as my "little brothers" while looking way, way up at them. ;)

Etoile Filante September 13, 2014

I am the oldest but smallest! Madness xXx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.