New year, new panda in Site Updates

Revised: 01/25/2024 9:29 a.m.

  • Jan. 3, 2024, 12:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey everyone,

I appreciate all of you that reached out about the issues with the front page not updating and the pandas that are showing up when you try to post. This is similar to the issue we had last year, but I’m also seeing issues with the auto-save functionality.

I’ve reached out to our developers to look into the issues, and will post any updates here as we work on things. Hoping this will be a quick one, appreciate your patience!

-J

Update 1/23 – Hey everyone, my sincere apologies for how long this has taken to resolve. I’ve been down for the count health-wise the last few weeks, and my communication with the devs about the issue wasn’t great. That said, I just got word that they’ll be able to take a detailed look tomorrow night. A cursory look under the hood makes it seem like it’s the same problem we had last May, so the fix should be quick. This should also fix Entry Search, which has been borked. Will update if any of this changes.

In short: site’s not in danger of going away, I see and hear all of you and how upset you are about how communication has been consistently poor for a fairly long period of time. The lights will remain on. More to come.

Update 1/25 — Devs took a look last night, but weren’t able to fix things just yet. The quest continues tonight. Dayjobs, amirite? Who needs em.

Anywho, will update when I know more (or hopefully when things are fixed!). Appreciate everyone’s patience during the pandastorms.

Know that I have a high quality Mochi pic lined up for when we succeed. More soon


Last updated January 25, 2024


Deleted user January 03, 2024

Thank you sir!

NorthernSeeker January 03, 2024

Thank you Josh and Mochi

Lucretia January 03, 2024

Thank you! happy New Year and love to Mochi

thesunnyabyss January 03, 2024

Thanks!

GypsyWynd January 03, 2024

Thank you, Josh.
Happy New Year to you and Mochi!

Jodie January 03, 2024 (edited January 03, 2024)

Edited

I have also noticed that some entries are on the page twice when I look at the book marks. I don't remember seeing this before? But I did notice that my entries do get posted so something is going right?

Walking Crow Jodie ⋅ January 03, 2024

Yeah same here. Keep getting Pandas and when I look I can't see my entry on front page or in diary but eventually someone will message me about it and I go look and at least in my diary it's there o.o

Jodie Walking Crow ⋅ January 03, 2024

The think I really like about this site is that the owner actually takes the time to read what people say and answers their issues and unlike Open diary they accept all speech. And I like how I am not forced to pay for crapy service.

Walking Crow January 03, 2024

<3 Thank you!

sudare January 03, 2024

Thank you!

J.E. January 03, 2024 (edited January 03, 2024)

Edited

Yo! Spam account Jewel Galore keeps leaving me spam comments! Using vulgar responses isn't working.
🤔

abrawmclaren January 03, 2024

Thank you so much!

The Gal Who Gets It January 03, 2024

I appreciate your communication with us! It's very reassuring =)

Gulf Girl January 04, 2024

Thanks but I thought YOU were the developer.

Mr. Mofo January 04, 2024

Okay I am very sorry but where is everyone's favorite pupstar, Mochi? Hope everything is okay.

Jinn Mr. Mofo ⋅ January 16, 2024

Definitely Mochi!

theKat January 04, 2024

thank you

RBJLLJ January 04, 2024

Thank you

RBJLLJ January 09, 2024

Thank you. I got the panda, but it still post.

Justlovely January 09, 2024

Just experienced it for the first time, logging on since the new year. Glad to know it isn't just me! Thanks.

Cat Mommy January 10, 2024

I agree an update would be good. I'm tired of the front page not being updated and getting a panda after I do anything.

CookieCastle January 11, 2024

I would also like an update. I try to post almost every day to no avail. Thank you for working on it!

Mr. Mofo January 12, 2024

Why do I always get an ANGRY panda with red eyes and blood dripping off of it's chin?!?

Asenath Waite Mr. Mofo ⋅ January 13, 2024

That's a manifestation of Onikuma, I think. Try burning Japanese incense.

Asenath Waite January 13, 2024

I light four equidistant LED candles, cast a circle with a CAT5 cable, and burn a copy of "HTML and CSS, Design And Build Websites", sacrificing it to the spirit of Steve Jobs

Pretend Mulling January 14, 2024

//smears ash on face//
//holds out little wooden bowl with a little wooden spoon in it//
"Please Josh, I'd like an update."

abrawmclaren January 14, 2024

Entry search isn't working either; I noticed last week and it's still broken. I'm a funeral director; I know I've used the word 'funeral' in an entry before. Thank you for working on the bloodthirsty pandas!

rhizome abrawmclaren ⋅ January 18, 2024

yes, i saw that too! :-(

LordJunon 🧀🧀🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🧀🧀 January 16, 2024

Do I have to get the poking stick?

Pretend Mulling LordJunon 🧀🧀🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🧀🧀 ⋅ January 19, 2024

No, worse: We need a vuvuzela cover of "It's Raining Tacos."

I mean, I don't know that that will work, but I also don't know that I won't.

Jinn January 16, 2024

Thanks, Josh, and Happy New Year !

Jinn January 16, 2024

Everything is working for me but I use my phone. I am grateful .

Mystery January 17, 2024

Josh, WTF is going on???????? It's like the site is on autopilot until it crashes and burns completely. Is anyone even at least trying to resolve the issues here?

rhizome January 18, 2024

any progress on this? i just wrote an entry that won't save no matter what i try

<3

Parallax. January 19, 2024

Sooo what's going on? The front page hasn't updated for at least 5 days for me, despite refreshing it, and now I'm seeing entries post multiple times? Like one of my faves just posted an entry and it is showing up 5 times in my bookmarks, that's weird.

Literally any sort of update would be appreciated >.<

Cat Mommy January 19, 2024

Can we get a darn update? It's been weeks of this.

Mystery January 23, 2024

"Always available at admin@prosebox.net"

Are you sure about that? Obviously, you don't work on this site anymore so why don't you tell us who does? Or has the site been completely abandoned?

Jodie January 23, 2024

Question? When I post my entries say on the front page that it has been revised but I ahve never revised any entries. I have also noted that on others but not sure if they revised it or not. is that part of the same issue as last years also?

rhizome January 23, 2024

so sorry to hear you've been down for the count with health stuff! thank you so much for the update, it's always reassuring to hear from you

<3

TellTaleHeart January 23, 2024

I've been getting the panda when I post an entry, but if I immediately go to my profile page, I can see that it posted. I've also seen a lot of double posts in my Bookmarks... not sure if that's a glitch or people re-posting because of the panda.

Sorry you've been sick... thanks for all you do!

simple mind January 23, 2024

I'm sorry to hear that you've been sick for so long. Glad to hear the good news though.

Lux Lunae January 23, 2024

Thanks for the update Josh. Was getting very concerned. Very sorry to hear you have been so sick. Thank you for being candid.

Ginger Snap January 23, 2024

Take care of yourself, Josh! We appreciate you!

thesunnyabyss January 23, 2024

Thanks, feel better!

Asenath Waite January 24, 2024

Here's hoping this is something transient like covid or the flu. Anything else would be kind of terrifying. Feel Better

Firebabe January 24, 2024

Thanks for the updates. It is difficult to manage something like this when you're also struggling health-wise. Hit me up if you need any testing help, I will gladly join in. *hugs*

TrippyNina January 24, 2024

Thanks for the update, Josh! I do hope you are feeling better. xoxoxoxo

FragileGlass January 24, 2024

So glad the site will remain!
I really appreciate Prosebox!
💖

idgaf_whatevs January 24, 2024

Thank you from a new user ♥

Jodie January 25, 2024

I wish I could help but all i can do is tell you what exactly is happening after i write an entry.

Mr. Mofo January 25, 2024

Falls to my knees, tears my shirt, and roars out into the darkness, "Moooooochiiiiiiii"!!!

thesunnyabyss January 26, 2024

Thank you so much!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.