may I interfere in 2014

  • Sept. 6, 2014, 2:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

10:56pm

So, we went out to dinner tonight and the bartender/waiter/owner? of the restaurant decided he wanted to marry my aunt. Love at first sight. I guess? That was kind of fun. haha.

As background: my aunt’s been single for a long time. She never married, never had kids, nothing. And I think she was pretty flattered to have that guy, a good looker too, say he wanted to marry her. See, we were ordering our meals and she switched choices at the last minute. We questioned her on it and she said she was just going to try the special from Mom’s plate. He laughed and said she was so smart that he was going to marry her. Then my aunt opened up her hands, pretended to look for a wedding ring, and asked him, “when?” More laughter and he grabbed her hand and tried to lead her away from the table. I put my arm out and said, “hey! hold on! let us have dinner first!” haha.

It was a pretty funny situation. This is the first time any of us have been to that particular place. I mean we’d gone there before but they’ve switched it up. It’s a whole new concept and under new ownership, I assume. The food was good. I loved the price of my beer. But I was completely won over by the guy’s attitude. Not just because he wanted to marry my aunt. hah. He just has a really good personality. Getting along with everyone. I’ll be surprised if he doesn’t make it. Because I kinda want to go back just to joke around and drink a couple beers.

We teased him a lot too. Especially after he walked over with the bottle of wine and filled my aunt’s cup about half-way. He said it was because she needed to match my mom’s glass level. Of course Mom got all pretend mad and later gave him a bad time about how she was in charge of the tip. After he dropped off the check, he came back with the bottle to give her more too. haha. As we were leaving, I asked him when the wedding date would be, because I obviously needed to buy a new outfit. He told me Halloween so we could all come in new outfits. ha ha! Funny guy. He also said he expected to see us there every Friday from now until then too. And I’m almost tempted to try to accomplish that. [You know, if it weren’t for living an hour away…]

I wish I had a personality like that. I could rule the world with those abilities. Smart man for taking advantage of it with his business!

Also, while we were there, I got a text from CK. Guess he’s back. Apparently he was up in Canada? I don’t know. I didn’t get the full story, but that must be why he told me his phone would be off. And I guess this answers the question of whether he would let me know he was back, or we’d just run into each other out there someday.

He’s in Seattle. They’re spending the night there, but I don’t think he’ll do much exploring. Sounds like there’s a ton of people in the area. He made sure I knew the hotel bar had all you can drink specials for two hours tonight. Kinda rude to tell someone that if they’re a thousand miles away, but whatever! ;-|

I’d asked him where my invite was when he first contacted me to let me know he was there and he said he didn’t think to extend one. So when he told me he only had a couple drinks, for lack of a drinking partner, I said that that was probably where extending an invite would have come in handy. hah. It is his turn to invite me, after all.

I am going to try my best not to over-analyze this. What with the “I’m leaving” texts and the “Seattle traffic sucks” [aka I’m now back in service] messages coming through. My poor brain is working overtime just to block out the thoughts!

Honestly I could really use a new friend around here. I need to slow down on the messages but I kinda want to tell him everything, and hear everything, and gabgabgab. Can’t help it!

Now if I could just get him to invite me over to that sweet little porch of his to hang out over beers, all would be well! And nothing else has to happen. It doesn’t have to go any further than that. I’d be ok with just the friend thing. I mean I still have reservations about his age and social awkwardness and all that. =\

But yeah. We’ll see where that goes. It’s definitely not the same as it was months ago. We’re like having actual conversations now, and it doesn’t take him two days to reply [and I’m not really stalling that much either], and he’s seeing all the crazy. I’m not really hiding much of it. It comes with being friends. And I’m over the idea of trying to act like someone I’m not. He’s gotta know things like the fact that my mind lives in the gutter. hah. [maybe I should have waited just a little bit longer to admit that one....whoops..]

In other news: what the heck constitutes semi-formal/cocktail attire at a wedding? The last time I was at one of those it probably involved butterflies on my dress, or something.

rose.
11:35pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.