like friends do in 2014

Revised: 09/04/2014 12:48 a.m.

  • Aug. 23, 2014, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

11:11pm

Make a wish! ;-)

It’s a total shocker that I am suddenly writing a bunch, isn’t it? Like life hasn’t just thrown me a curve ball right when I thought I was done playing the game.

I want to tell you more things about CK. Stuff I remembered after last night’s ginormous entry. I know it gets old, real fast, but I can’t help myself. And this is my diary, right? hah. After months of going on and on about it, this really isn’t all that different.

Except for like the fact that it was completely different. But I don’t need to get into that again.

I was thinking about the moment that we were both standing in the driveway and something about the neighbor came up. He mentioned that he used to hang out there all the time, like six or seven years ago. [Could I have run into him before and not remember it??] I asked who with and he said M, which I figured since they’re about the same age. He said he didn’t hang with the Neighbor too much because apparently that was during his heavy smoking phase and CK said that wasn’t his thing.

For some reason I let slip a comment about how I must have “gone over there after you all left” and he turned to me with one of those Oh really looks. I scrambled to try to come up with some way to make that not sound as if I meant I’d go hang out with the Neighbor alone late at night. haha. Not sure I succeeded but the subject was changed rather quickly.

I also remembered that moment, standing in the courtyard, when Mom told Ck that my brother was moving to Texas and away from my beloved Seattle. I told him that I was sad not to be able to go visit him up there anymore. And without any hesitation at all CK said, “you could come visit me.” He was thinking about moving up that way.

It came out like one of those things you say to your lifelong friends. As if we’ve been hanging out for months. Nothing like the reality that involves my waiting around for him to just ask me to come over for a beer already. But oh well. It was really nice, and kinda random, for him to invite me to visit him. [Sorta like that one time he said I could come over in the middle of the night all I wanted..ha.] Will I ever actually take him up on that? I guess it depends on what happens over the next few months, or whatever time period before he leaves. I would definitely love to take him up on an offer like that. It sounds like his family lives out in the country. We aren’t even friends like that though. I’m not sure why he’d even suggest it. [so quickly too?]

There are other things, of course, but I don’t want to bore anyone to death with all this talk. It was just so nice to, even for a split second, feel like we were friends and there could be more of those days in the future.

I’m not holding my breath. I mostly imagine we’ll go back to not talking for months and somewhere down the line there will be another random encounter. I’ve really wanted to text him since yesterday, but I decided a while ago that I couldn’t be that girl anymore. He’s still impossible to fully read and I don’t want to make all the moves. He’s perfectly capable of finding me if he really wants to. The ball is still in his court.

So I am actually going to try to get to bed earlier tonight. Tomorrow is Mom’s birthday and I want to wake up early to make her breakfast. She’ll be gone for most of the day and I want to do at least a little something for her. Her and a longtime family friend have tickets to a concert and it starts early. It’ll be kind of a bummer not to spend the day with her, but that’s ok. She’s a big girl. ;-) Plus this’ll probably give me a chance to bake up some cupcakes or something as a surprise for when she returns.

I have a whole list of chores to accomplish anyways. If I can muster up enough motivation I would like to finish all my hardworking outdoor chores tomorrow. Painting, and sanding, and washing, and trimming. All that good stuff.

Right. So early bedtime it is. I’m tired enough for it too. Especially after two days of not being able to fall asleep until almost 2am.

Night.

rose.
11:55pm


Last updated September 04, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.