Jan One. in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 1, 2024, 7:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Took the 3-hour drive today to Mom and Dad’s. I brought lunch for the whole family. There was a tenseness at the table, but I finally broached the subject again. It’s baby steps for now. I just hope there’s a little time before something dire happens.

Mom gets an MRI tomorrow (well, MRA - with contrast) of her head/neck/brain so the docs can see what’s going on in there and if she’s actually been having little strokes. I think she has.

My brother offered to drive mom and dad to the appointment. Another baby step! At first, Dad declined and my brother pressed (another step!), and Dad said okay and actually sounded relieved.

My brother gave me a look and I winked back, but not in a “cute” way. It was an acknowledgment.

After lunch, my dad asked me what else I wanted to accomplish and I told him I wanted to do some cleaning in their little apartment (attached to the house). He agreed, but told me that he wanted to show me how he “likes it done.” Fine.

I did it his way while he looked on for a little bit and then decided to lie down. The tiniest task exhausts him now.

Mom got up from a nap only to lie back down in her recliner while I kept cleaning.

They got up to walk me out to my car and to take a peek at it (my lease was about to expire, so I traded in Mini Pearl for a brand new model on Friday…I named her Chloe Car-dashian. She’s green and so, so cute).

Then the 3-hour drive home. Podcasts. Melancholy. I don’t feel super sad because I know this is life. I just want to be a source of comfort through all of this, and I don’t know if I’m doing the best job.

But it’s a new year and I started 75 Hard today. Yes, I also got two workouts in, photos, all my hydration, a couple of healthy meals and NO alcohol. And I read my 10 pages.

Tomorrow is back to work. I gotta turn on the heat at work. I let things slide over the holidays.

So much to do.

In addition to Mom and Dad, I have to take care of myself. I got notice today that I need to schedule my 2-year colonoscopy. Doc appointments, dentist, my eyes feel off.

Yes, so much.

Welcome, 2024. We haven’t even started strategizing my soulmate search!

So, so, so much to do.

GS


a girl thinking January 01, 2024

Love the car name!

Ginger Snap a girl thinking ⋅ January 02, 2024

Haha, thank you!

Jinn January 01, 2024

One thing at a time. You will get it all done . You are a good daughter.

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ January 02, 2024

That's all we can do. One thing at a time. Thank you for saying that.

Jinn Ginger Snap ⋅ January 02, 2024

❤️

bobbi01 January 01, 2024

Your car name made me lol. I've been through this with my Mother. This is the hardest time.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ January 02, 2024

Haha, yeah the car name just came to me and it stuck quickly.!

And yeah, this is so hard, but I'm so lucky I still have these days.

sudare January 02, 2024

You’ve done so many things done! Both of us will have to do take care of our lovely selves this year!!

Ginger Snap sudare ⋅ January 02, 2024

Yes, let's take care of US this year!

Also, are you ok? Have you been affected by the earthquakes? I'm going to check your diary now...

pandora January 02, 2024

We named our car after Lisa Rinna. What’s wrong with us? Hahah.

What you are doing for your folks is a lot more than many would do, so I hope you don’t think it’s not enough. I can’t believe you did all that plus the Hard 75 stuff. I hope you have some gentle moments with yourself too - taking care of aging parents is a lot.

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ January 02, 2024

Okay, that's hilarious (the Lisa Rinna car name...love that we did this!).

I sure hope we are doing the right things. It's all we can do. It's going to be okay, but ughhh. It's going to suck in the meantime.

Gangleri January 04, 2024

One of my coworkers has started analyzing all our ages versus when we'll need colonoscopies. It's mostly because he's due for one. I think.

SweetMelissa January 04, 2024

You've already accomplished so much. I washed our shower curtain and replaced the liner. I folded some towels and basically sat on PB for hours in between trying to catch up. I'm glad your dad accepted help. Be proud of yourself for doing what you can. Its not easy for people to feel their autonomy slipping away so the gentle prod was good.

Serin February 05, 2024

It's hard with the parents, but you did very well. I think. I'm glad your dad accepted the assistance, and now it's easier the next time because it's not as new.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.