Essentials in Wellness Advocate - Essential Enterprises LLC

  • Sept. 3, 2014, 8:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been putting a lot of thought into the idea of what would fit into the broad category of essentials. What does this mean? Of course the question is out there in my mind as I work on my values, including financial security that would equate to a legacy (mostly of concepts) my children and grandchildren will someday come into. The corporation name I’m leaning toward is RLA Essentials (with the RLA from my initials that were given to me at birth by my biological parents. Essentials would begin with identity, including my name.

I have a lot to write about concerning names and why these matter, just as the thoughts about self-identity and worth blend in. I’ve been watching some teachings in the self-empowerment part of my regular choices (and why I love my current job that allows for self-empowerment). Amy Walker’s teaching about balancing home life and business life is beginning make sense to me in a practical way. Her teaching (and when I think of it later I’ll probably add a link to her video if she allows this) includes a picture of building blocks stacked up neatly in the intentional order so the foundation is in place before the finishing touches. For me, faith and relationships are close to the foundational part with security (money) closely following. Self-empowerment (learning) is probably next. Maybe I have these three in the wrong order, but they are definately more foundational for me personally than my health, my appearance, or my career. This fascinates me as I consider what issues are essential to my life.

Parenting and training children are part of the relationship block that are foundational to me, which could explain the shelves of parenting books still on my bookcases despite the fact that my children are now young adults. I was the Child Advocate at work before becoming the Legal Advocate, and used that position to bring training modules I loved to the community in which I had some influence.

Mostly I used the two parenting programs I selected (that I’d already chosen at home). I guess I listened to the teachings that the authors of the books I loved from these two programs so much that I hear myself using the catch phrases quite naturally. I’m especially liking Parenting With Love and Logic as I remember the teaching about bedtimes.

One author talks about how it is easier to wake up children than it is to put them to sleep. I’ve got a lot more to say here and share the experts over time. It boils down to choosing to let the child make his or her own choices, hard as it is at first for the helicopter or drill seargeant parent, because the child will see the results of those choices and make better choices next time, as long as parents don’t lecture. We have to let the results be the lecture! More later…


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.