New Year, New Lasagna Casserole in Tales from the kitchen witch

  • Jan. 1, 2024, 3:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Im going to bring in the new year with an epic lasagna.
As always my recipes are for my big family, but this is EASILY split up for a smaller household.
This is not a “fat busting” recipe or a “healthy” recipie. This is a cheat day, eat the cheese gooey meal.

First thing, FRESH HERBs, Not joking. Do not use dried herbs in this. You will 100% regret it.
Fresh Oregano, Basil and Sage. Finely dice and mix in a baggie together.

2 cups ricotta cheese ( whole fat) ( you can also sub cream cheese or cottage cheese, but I have not tired this, just heard about it)
2 cups parmesan ( Shredded, not powdered)
2 cups shredded Sharp cheddar. You will NOT regret this one.
2 cups shredded mozzarella.
1 cup Italian cheese blend
1 12 oz tub of oil packed herb mozzarella ( this is at walmart, in the great value. This is a MUST BUY) You will use both the oil AND the cheese. Chop the cheese and set the oil aside.
32 oz egg noodles ( or pasta of choice, you could do manicotti noodles, lasagna noodles ect. the store was out of manicotti, so I got our favorite egg noodles.
2 lbs ground beef. Use the good stuff, at least 90% meat 10% fat. Preferably 97% , Crumbled and sauteed with additional fresh herbs. If nothing else, Basil! Use a bit of the seasoned oil to flavor.
32 oz marinara sauce (two jars)

How I make this ultimate dish.

In a large bowl. Dump your cheeses. Start mixing, Sprinkle in basil at minimum. Pour over a bit of the oil from the mozzi. Mix well. Set aside.

Mix your marinara sauce into the ground beef.

Spray bottom of disposable foil pants with cooking spray. Yes This one I do in disposable pans. 1, easy to freeze if you want to make ahead of time. 2, Cheese is a mess cleaning up!

For non stuffed shells.
This is for TWO pans of lasagna.
Later your pasta and mix with the oil from the cheese. Roughly 1-2 tablespoons is enough, then a thick layer of your cheese mix ( roughly 1/4). Layer in HALF your meat mixture. Layer additional noodles. Top with any sauce left over. Layer another 1/4 of your cheese mix. Sprinkle herbs on top. Be generous!

Bake for roughly 2 hours. or till all your cheeses are melty and the INSIDE of your bake is warm!

For stuffed shells.
Boil shells till al-dente or slightly softened. Stuff full with cheese blends. Layer on top meat and sauce mix, Top with remaining cheese. Bake.

This recipe like I said is a high fat, high calorie meal.
This nutrition information is for a 2x2 inch square based on the ingredients listed above. To be realistic, I wont eat a 2x2. But that is the size I measure for per pan haha.

Nutrition Facts
Servings: 24
Amount per serving
Calories 449
% Daily Value
Total Fat 14.7g 19%
Saturated Fat 6.3g 31%
Cholesterol 66mg 22%
Sodium 722mg 31%
Total Carbohydrate 64.2g 23%
Dietary Fiber 12.2g 43%
Total Sugars 12.9g
Protein 18g
Vitamin D 0mcg 0%
Calcium 468mg 36%
Iron 8mg 47%
Potassium 782mg 17%
The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a food serving contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calorie a day is used for general nutrition advice.

alt text


Small Town Girl January 03, 2024

This recipe had to be $$$$ with all of that stuff!

I am so effing sick of Lasagna and red sauced foods I could vomit! But this does sound good!

I was just discussing with another PB fave that it must be a regional thing? We totally use cottage cheese vs ricotta here. I've had it both ways and much prefer thr cottage cheese to ricotta.

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ January 05, 2024

As its written, for a family my size. 45 dollars at walmart. I use walmart brands as much as possible. But its easy to swap some things out or use less cheeses. Its not like Colorado is cheap either lol.

I dont normally eat red sauce foods either. They usually give me heartburn. But ill eat this once in a while. I wont eat the leftovers.

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ January 05, 2024

You won't eat the leftovers?! Why not?! One of those recipes that is only good fresh?

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ January 05, 2024

Oh no its good, But I dont like to eat lasagna twice in a short time frame. Its just too much for me. My kids are huffling their way through the second one lol. Its great reheated. I just dont want it.
I eat all the other leftovers for lunches. I think lasagna is too heavy in my system.

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ January 05, 2024

I could totally see that! It is for me too! Most pasta is.

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ January 05, 2024

Yeah. I made stir fry and it was amazing, I ate it for three days.
Its the cheese for me lol.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.