Many Broken Toes in My this and that

  • Sept. 3, 2014, 11:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, today I am thankful for God’s hands in directing even accidents.

My husband was at work on Thursday as most of us were. He is a level to mechanic apprentice, and he was doing what he normally does. He was just going to close a big garage door at the shop when something “sproinged” at the top and it started a very quick decent. With one of the smaller doors, he’s usually able to just catch it with his hands to slow the decent, so he tried this, but this was bigger and heavier and so he abandoned that plan and tried to jump out of the way. His toes didn’t move fast enough. But PRAISE GOD he got the rest of himself out of the way.

So now he has four broken toes on his right foot. We were at emergency for a while, and they basically said we could go home and wait for a surgeon to call us. So that’s what we’ve been doing since Thursday. There’s been pain, but not quite as much as I would have expected. The toes are off at weird angles, and his whole foot looks similar to a balloon.

In emergency they said they’d be putting pins or wires in each toe. I imagine healing from that will be painful too. I kind of wish the surgeon would call already so we can get this part over with.

In this ordeal, it’s forced me to drive our car. Recently we bought that really pretty new 2014 Scion tC and it’s standard. I’d practised a few times, but I’m not great, and never had taken it on any real city roads yet. Well, when Ben got hurt I drove across the city to the hospital. I stalled a lot, and it was incredibly stressful for me, but I DID IT! I haven’t driven since getting him home from the hospital though. I’m learning though I guess.


chel_c September 05, 2014

oh jeepers i know what its like to stall, but its ok i've been there :)
we prayed for you at abundant life on Sunday my brother got baptized in teh ldb river. I was so happy i could partake in teh prayer for Ben :)

Gurly239 chel_c ⋅ September 08, 2014

Aw thank you so much for praying! That's awesome. I saw the pics you posted of the baptism. That is so awesome!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.