End of 2023 in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 1, 2024, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday I started to do a little montage of 2023 on Instagram with photos from my year, but when I started pulling photos, I was like, ughhh, what a blah year. Like, it was a weird year.

So I dropped the idea.

But then today, I thought, oh what the hell. It was a weird year, but maybe it was like a palette cleanser year. You know, the year between the SHITTY last four years and the AWESOME next four years, right?

So I went ahead and did it.

This is also part of the Mel Robbins workbook - you go back through your photos for the year and write down the highlights as it will help you set your goals for 2024. So I’m just going to write them down here for posterity:

January:
- Tearfully moved out of The Treehouse
- Found new place in [New City] near a great park!
- Moved amid an ice storm! Lost power for nearly a week! Our dear [Ylime] let Martini and me stay at her place until my electricity came back on!

February:
- My friend Wen visited to help me set up my apartment and settle in
- Mom and Dad came to visit over Valentine’s Day
- Started my brand new job at The Cutie Pie Company on Feb. 15

March:
- Immediately hated The Cutie Pie Company!
- Immediately LOVED walking on all of the city trails in this town
- Started making a few friends and doing a little exploring

April:
- Back to [Old City] for all doc appointments (had like 5 in one day - insane!)
- Spent Easter with the fam
- Work stress - work stress - work stress! Like, it took over my life.

May:
- Stress from work was eating my brain. Started drinking and drugging myself before work.
- Planning Mom and Dad’s 60th Wedding Anniversary Party
- Friendship with C. blossomed

June:
- Mom + Dad’s big party!
- Just got more and more sick from work stress
- Finally turned in resignation at the end of the month. Gave a month’s notice

July:
- The “incident” happened at Cutie Pie. Chief Cutie kicked me out of the office and threatened me. I freaked out and hired a lawyer.
- Mom had a pulmonary embolism and was in ICU for several days
- [Athena] came to visit!

August:
- Networking, networking, networking - sometimes at cool places/restaurants
- Few dates, but no luck
- Walking aimlessly at this point.

September:
- Got a cool consulting gig
- A big squamous cell carcinoma popped up on my shoulder and I had to have it removed with Moh’s surgery
- Lots and lots of job interviews

October:
- Went to a super fun music festival with friends, but got freaked out by the crowds and had to leave early
- Got a JOB at The Cool Cat Company!
- Turned 56

November:
- Girls Trip to Cancun was fun and annoying at the same time. Still sooooo glad I got to go!
- Thanksgiving at Mom and Dad’s and then brunching, walking and drinking with all the old crew!
- Started to get used to working from home

December:
- Founder of Cool Cat Company was at my apartment to work on development for two full days. It was weird, but fine.
- Christmas at Mom + Dad’s and seeing their rapid decline caused a lot of anxiety and stress in the whole family
- The end of a really weird year

So that’s my end of year recap. Feels…somehow incomplete? Or just…I can’t even describe. But I gotta run. C.’s coming over with some snacks and we’re gonna watch the ball drop on TV. He’ll likely fall asleep on my couch and I will have to wake him up and kick him out. I’m hungover as hell anyway so I’ll likely fall asleep at some point too.

Tomorrow morning, I’ll get up super duper early, work out and then get ready to drive to mom and dad’s to bring them a New Year’s Day lunch! And then we’ll talk about their needs and get that ball rolling. Ah, life.

Hope everyone has an amazing New Year’s Eve!
Happy 2024!
GS


bobbi01 January 01, 2024

Happy new year Ginger. I'm so glad you are out of that Shit show company. Only good things for 24.

ninakir88 January 01, 2024

So glad you left that company. Happy new year

Jinn January 01, 2024

It was a year I will be happy to file away :-) I think you handled yours admirably . I am wishing that 2024 is terrific for you !

plushcreep January 01, 2024

Love your positive attitude; you deserve to have a great 2024!

sudare January 02, 2024

There have been a lot for you! Leaving the company is a good part!

Complicated Disaster January 03, 2024

Happy New Year! Has it really been a year since you left the Treehouse??!! xx

SweetMelissa January 05, 2024

Sounds like an eventful year. I like the idea of writing out the highlights to plan the next year. Think I'll work on mine tonight.

Serin February 06, 2024

It's something to see the whole year laid out like that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.