Fuck 2023 in Adventures in paradise

  • Dec. 31, 2023, 3:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m going to write an entry on the last day of 2023 here in Australia, because I’m currently in an interesting situation. Somewhat dangerous lol. I ummed and ahhed about attending Tropical Fruits this year because I was concerned about the wild weather lately, and I wasn’t sure about my back holding out (yay 40’s lol).
Anyway, to cut a long story short, I am at Fruits, in my tent, while an intense storm is active around me. This is my first time using this tent that I bought two years ago, and I can confirm that it leaks 😅
I am managing to stay mostly dry however, as I have confined myself to one side of the tent that is keeping me dryish, but yeah my plans didn’t really work out this year. I should have listened to my gut and stayed at home. According to the BOM website, this storm is just right over Lismore, so that’d be right 😅 But it also says there’s a 100% chance of rain for the next few days straight 🙄 FFS
I am more concerned about lightning striking me as the thunder is insane here!

The drive down was ironically quite pleasant. It didn’t rain until I got to a lovely town called Clunes, which is about 7km away from my destination. But it has been a downpour since. I managed to dive straight into my tent as soon as it was up. It’s not secured or anything, so if there’s any wind (not as yet!), my weight will be the only thing holding this down. The weather app says the rain will lighten toward 9pm, and I think then I will try and make a run for it to the car in the carpark. It is muddy though so I hope I don’t slip over. I have my blow-up mattress in the tent with me, but both inflation tools I brought with don’t work, so I’ll be on the tent floor on the grass of the showgrounds if I don’t make a run for it. I think I’ll forget about attending the new years celebrations and hopefully sleep away the new year in the car. I’m sure the cracks of thunder will keep me awake all night anyway.

What a lovely way to end 2023 this is 🙄


cazoob December 31, 2023

Oh wow, stay safe!

wintergrey December 31, 2023

Stay safe and happy new year! Hopefully 2024 will be better!

TL December 31, 2023

lol, wow! You really can't catch a break!

Swanny January 01, 2024

Goodness!

~Octopussy~ January 02, 2024

Holy shit, that's awful!

Fawkes Gal January 03, 2024

Oh no! :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.