On Xmas Eve and Starting Anew in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 24, 2023, 9:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So much to write, but I need to prepare for my three-hour drive to the fam’s for Christmas.

It’s been such a melancholy year. I am SO looking forward to 2024 and what that actually means. I swear to god, I am breaking out of a 5-year slump. And yes, I know I need to be realistic - shit happens. But I truly am starting to feel like there’s a possibility of becoming a new person again. I feel like I have an opportunity to get back to my happy, healthy, loving self in 2024.

First of all, I’m doing some heavy-duty prepping. I am working through Mel Robbins 2024 Workbook (there’s a link to get it on this page) . It’s about goal-setting, and I’m ready to set some achievable goals for 2024.

Secondly, I’m considering (actually, not even considering…I’ve made a commitment to myself) to do the 75 Hard Program starting January 1. Have you heard of this? Has anyone on here done the program? It’s a mental/physical challenge that consists of Five Things you have to do for 75 days:

  1. Exercise 2X/day for 45 minutes - and one of those sessions has to be outdoors (will be interesting during the winter months!)
  2. Follow a diet - this can be any diet you want to follow, but it has to be a structured diet. I have decided I’m going to focus on a high-protein diet with lots of veggies mixed in. No alcohol. Period.
  3. Take progress pics every day so you can see progress from beginning to end.
  4. Drink one gallon of water per day (honestly, I will adjust this to a healthy amount of water for my weight. There’s actually such a thing as too much water, but I want to make sure I study this a little more. I think my healthy amount will be somewhere between 80-100 oz. and I will stick to this!)
  5. Read 10 pages of a non-fiction book daily. Pretty sure this is meant to be a self-help type book vs. my favorite genre - the memoir, but I’ll listen to the podcast today on my drive to make sure.

Y’all know I LOVE a routine, and with my work being so weirdly flexible and fluid, I think these above steps might be the discipline I’ve been craving for several months.

But NONE of it is going to start until January 1, so for now, I have some celebrating to do with friends and family and I intend to savor these moments, eat all the things, drink all the wine, and BE ALL THE MERRY!!

I love you, friends.
Have a JOYOUS Christmas!
GS


sudare December 24, 2023

Good luck with your routine! I’m happy you are getting out of the slump!

Ginger Snap sudare ⋅ December 24, 2023

Thank you, Thank you! Me too!

Complicated Disaster December 24, 2023

Merry Christmas! Here's to 2024!! 🎅🎁🥰 Xx

a girl thinking December 24, 2023

I heard you should drink half of your body weight in oz of water.

Ginger Snap a girl thinking ⋅ December 25, 2023

I’m trying to research the correct amount of water. It’s a lot title all over the place, but this sounds simple enough!

Jinn December 25, 2023

This sounds very interesting !
Have a great time celebrating and a very happy New Year !

Athena December 26, 2023

Can’t wait to hear more today during our epic date.

SweetMelissa December 30, 2023

I love a solid plan for the new year. Working on mine, now.
Cheers to 2024!

Serin February 05, 2024

Being forced outside is an interesting part of the fitness challenge.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.