Needing MOAR advice... Melatonin. in 2014

  • Sept. 2, 2014, 1:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Its like I can’t come down off this high from meeting Linkin Park. I love them so freeeakkking much that I’ve just been like “OMG” ever since. lol … but back to more serious life and shit…

Miley is still giving me grief at bedtime. We’ve been battling this since last spring. I’ve literally tried EVERY THING. Everything… Every single thing. I’ve taken all the advice I’ve ever been given. Except one thing. Melatonin. That is the only piece of advice I’ve just tried to steer clear from. I mean, I don’t think its a bad thing. I just wanted to be sure I try every thing first. Well, I have lol Really all she keeps doing is needing covered up, needing uncovered, needing a light on, light off, needing a thousand hugs, needing to tell me useless things…

I’m at my wits end now. I’m not mad at her, or yelling at her, I simply am just shutting her door now and letting her scream it out for now. It generally works, but I don’t like doing it. I will consider calling the dr. this week. I don’t know what else to do.

So if any of you guys have had experience with Melatonin and your children, or yourselves, please PLEASE let me know, tell me everything, all your knowledge on the subject, good or bad. Mostly good please though because I’ve run out of options lol…

Shes asleep, I was worried about the effect this would have on Evelyn because of her screaming, but Evelyn is fast asleep. I just keep praying that she doesn’t start doing it as well. Ugh. lol


Hotaru September 02, 2014

I used to take it. I've always had trouble sleeping. I even did a sleep study because both of my parents have sleep apnea and they thought I might too. The doctor couldn't find any reason for my sleep troubles and gave me a choice between sleeping pills or melatonin. I never had any side effects. I would check with the doc before giving it to a child just to be sure.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Hotaru ⋅ September 02, 2014

Yes I would definitely check w my dr.

Squirrel September 02, 2014

I think I was 14 when I started taking melatonin. It helped me tremendously and I had no bad side affects. How old is Miley? It shouldn't be a problem, but as others have said definitely check in with a doctor about it.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Squirrel ⋅ September 02, 2014

Shes 5

Ring of Honor September 02, 2014

I think a lot of people assume since our bodies produce melatonin that taking the synthetic version is "natural" which equates to being good. This isn't necessarily the case. I recall from my organic chemistry class last semester that children shouldn't take melatonin. Something about messing up other hormones production. While your child isn't gonna grow a third arm or have any odd side effects, I think the main reason doctors don't recommend it is because there may be an underlying problem that should be addressed as opposed to just covering it with a bandaid (ie melatonin). Also melatonin isn't FDA regulated bc it is considered a "dietary supplement", if I remember correctly (and I may not bc I hated my organic chem class) melatonin is a sub hormone of serotonin (controls our moods) and is produced by the pineal gland in the brain; controlling your biological clock and circadian rhythm (ie knowing when it's night time vs morning time). Anyways, in lamens terms, try to get a professional opinion bc she may have an underlying problem that has resulted in her frustrating bed time ritual. Good luck, you're a champ for sticking this out for so long!

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Ring of Honor ⋅ September 02, 2014

Thats what I'm thinking... there HAS to be SOMETHING going on in her mind that keeps her up all night, or waking up, or not going to bed properly. I wish I could figure it out though. I would rather fix whatever is bothering her than have her on any sort of medication even if it IS just a natural thing.

Gonewiththebreeze September 03, 2014

Have you tried sleepytime kids tea? I'm a nanny and the parents I used to work for would make that for their son- it's all natural (chamomile and rosebuds and other herbs I think but don't quote me) it worked wonders to calm him down!

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Gonewiththebreeze ⋅ September 09, 2014

I will check that out!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.