overly complicated in 2014

Revised: 09/02/2014 12:16 a.m.

  • June 23, 2014, 8 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

11:09pm

I am so mentally exhausted right now, it’s not even funny. I haven’t felt like this since college when I’d scramble to get last minute essays done. Darn that procrastination! Especially on the ones that involved theory. yuck!

But today has nothing to do with school. I spent almost the entire day setting up my first official payroll client. I had to figure out the whole software situation, which turned out to be a major pain. Then after I got it on the laptop I went in to work and talked to the client. I was missing a ton of information so she sent her husband over with it.

The next few hours were spent setting up and organizing her employees and the company file. That was complicated and frustrating. On top of that I had to figure out how to remotely connect to the printers at the office. I’ve never taken the time to figure it out on the laptop and it took an enormous amount of time. The only time I took a break was around 3pm when we ran out to have a late lunch. I can’t imagine what I would have been like if I hadn’t had that food. My rage was definitely at an all time high because of everything going wrong. I don’t understand why everything has to be so difficult.

This client also requires extra paperwork because she’s a subcontractor with the government. Of course they have to make you do all kinds of unnecessary work. I’m not surprised at that. But it was after 8pm and I was stuck having to run manual calculations of payroll taxes. They weren’t matching up at all and I was losing my mind. Thank God for the magical internet with its free tax calculators. I would have died if I’d had to do all those numbers by pen and paper.

Finally figured it out though. I filled out all the forms, printed them, and tomorrow I’ll go over the results and call the client. I couldn’t look at them anymore tonight. My brain was way too tired to even comprehend what was going on. I’m pretty sure it’s all fine though. I double checked a few numbers and they looked good. Plus I figured out how to print the checks from the computer and that was kind of exciting. All professional looking. [only downside is that now Mom saw me do it and she’s going to want the same for our checks. hah]

It really was overly complicated. And mostly due to the fact that I don’t have that much time to work on it. I mean I just got back from vacation. She brought me paperwork on Weds, picked it up on Thurs, and I didn’t get it back until Friday. I did as much as I could, but I was still missing stuff. Today I had to just wing-it the best I could. And everything has to be done by tomorrow instead of Friday when their checks are due because I’m heading out of town again.

That’s probably why I got all crazy with it. If I’d had more time, and things were more organized, it wouldn’t have been such an issue. Glad I got it all sorted out though. I’ll have to rush back from my trip and put everything together for the next paychecks, but at least I’ve got it all setup and know what I’m doing. That should make everything a bit easier and I won’t feel like I’m going absolutely insane.

I knew there was a reason why I didn’t major in anything that involved math. haha. How the hell I wound up in this weird ‘accountant’ type job, I’ll never know. Must be the world’s way of throwing curve balls and laughing at the results. That crazy world!

Speaking of which, let’s talk about CK. [I know, you’ll hate me for bringing this up again..] There’s always been this weird, random, shows up out of nowhere thing with him. Like he was always there at the exact right moment. He’d pop into my head and then show up. I run into him in all kinds of random places around town, or at least see his truck [it’s very distinct]. I mean I run into him more than anyone else I know, and I know a lot of people in this small town.

It’s just strange the way all that’s happened. And suddenly I’m seeing his last name everywhere. Either I’ve never noticed it before, or it’s haunting me. I’m kinda leaning towards the latter. It would be hard not to have recognized it before. But now it’s everywhere. Books I’m reading. Articles online. Signs. People. Everything!

Not even the world wants me to let go of this and I’ve been trying so hard. It’s impossible to make it through an entire day at the office without noticing the loud engine of a truck and thinking it’s him.

I don’t know what to do. It’s all sorta stalled out. There aren’t so many opportunities for him to casually show up at the office when we aren’t even there. The world seems to be conspiring against my idea to try to move on.

Is that some kind of sign? Are all of these things signs? Everything has been so different; from the very moment I met him, everything changed. And I don’t know what to think. I don’t know how hard I should be trying, especially if I don’t seem to be getting anything in return. I just want to spend like an hour alone with him and then I’d know. I’d be sure of my decision to either let go or hold on tight.

But for now I’ll go ahead and go out of town again. Distractions will help. I’ve got a couple days of work and a nice roadtrip ahead of me. Of course I’ll probably want to text him at least once [or 20] times before it’s all over. Let’s hope I don’t get drunk enough to do/say anything completely stupid. I have a half-way decent reputation to keep.

I’m looking forward to some new adventures. The work thing should be interesting, maybe even a bit of fun. And the roadtrip is a total adventure. See where the wind takes us. Those are the kind of people we are. I’m excited and ready to get out of here again. [my social energy reserves are low, but I’ll find a way to survive]

Now I just need to contact this payroll client in the morning, get that all over with, and actually pack my bag for the trip. Procrastination at its finest. Guess you never quite grow out of that one. hah!

rose.
11:48pm


Last updated September 02, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.