Property Update #38- Appraisal & Closing in Tennessee

  • Dec. 20, 2023, 10:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here’s where I am at with property stuff at of now. I am in Illinois with my parents until Jan 6th, so things are going to get a bit tricky here. The finalized survey is all signed and recorded officially at the county registrar office. I am officially a landowner in the eyes of the county!

The appraisal happened on Dec 11th. The value of the land with the home (that’s not there yet) was appraised at $211,000.... pretty cool !

Next order of business is getting the septic permit updated. I paid for it back in August. I reached out to TDEC again and was told he wants me to have a finalized home placement (flags marking the spots) done before he can issue that. The issue there is that I picked a new double wide home model and the brush hogger knocked down the old flags. But either way, the guy at Clayton would need to approve the measurements and locations of the double wide anyway.

My parents were recently at the land and my dad went out there with red flags and put them down where he thought the house should go (he has the correct measurements). But the wrench on that plan is the planning meeting leader made some new regulation which marked “unbuildable areas” on our survey..... (the soil guy also remarked that he had never seen a survey with that so it must be new)......this was done the day before the planning meeting MIND YOU..... The spots on my tract of land which are open for building may not be the most ideal placement of my home. The terrain is rolling which means its not level for foundation in certain places and there are a few spots that go completely downhill. Now we could put the flags where we want and take a gamble on it. I guarantee you the county wont care (we don’t need a building permit for manufactured homes), BUT when he issues the second septic permit apparently he’s gonna check it even tho he already has the spots he can put the septic systems marked already (eye roll). The buildable area I am allowed.... the land may need leveling. I am not there to meet the foundation guy back out there to see for myself. So as my dad says, it’s gonna keep him up at night. LOL

That’s the one last annoyance on my property stuff I wish I could get over with. Because I am calling and emailing people and I can’t see for myself what they are doing.

My closing date is scheduled for Dec 29th. A notary will come to my parents house and I will do what I need to do. I will be putting 23k down on the home build. My parents being there will be cute, they are so excited for me. A notary will also go to Bestie’s mom and she will officially legally sign her name off the deed of the land. And then in Jan we are cleared for the construction to begin!

It’s so crazy I have come this far. Thank you for everyone who has continued to read these updates on my journey to moving to Middle Tennessee. I am so excited and I can’t wait for this construction to get started.

We are estimating the move in’s to be between May and August.


Last updated December 20, 2023


❤️vee December 21, 2023

this update is huge and I am so excited for you!!

AnOrangeZebra ❤️vee ⋅ December 21, 2023

<3 ! (hugs)

music & dogs & wine December 23, 2023

Congrats, time will fly and you will be living in your new place before you know it :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.