I'm Ready...Now Where Are You? in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 12, 2023, 3:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I spent a good portion of my weekend and today prepping for my new company’s (Cool Cat Company) founder to be here IN my apartment this week for development meetings. He flew in today and was to arrive around 3:45. I’d been messaging his assistant to make sure he had my info and address and everything. I knew he had a meeting late afternoon/early evening, so I figured we weren’t meeting until tomorrow, but one never knows, ya know? I wanted to be totally prepared.

I didn’t hear from him until 7pm. And that’s all fine and good. In fact, we aren’t even meeting until 10am tomorrow.

I’ve got my apartment set up much like an office. I moved my big monitor to my big dining room table and I have all of the boxes with work samples laid out in the space between my kitchen, dining and living rooms. It’s not ideal, in fact, it makes me insane to have all of these boxes laid out in my normally organized living space, but I think it’s going to work just fine for our meetings.

Still, I already can’t wait until we’re done. I plan to have everything back in its place by Thursday afternoon (we’ll be done Wednesday night and he’s flying back to Los Angeles Thursday morning).

I got a phone call today that I didn’t answer. I knew what it was. It was the other company calling to offer me a job. Sure enough, a few minutes later there was an email from the HR person at the company asking when a good time to talk would be and that she has good news!

I wrote her back and told her that I have two solid days of meetings, but I could talk on Thursday or Friday. That way, if something goes weirdly awry with these Cool Cat meetings, I can have this as an option, but only if they come up in salary at least $30K. You never know. It could happen…if they really want someone with my experience.

Anyway. Boring entry. But I wanted to write it out. I’m here. I’m alive. And even though I’m in this weird, weird headspace, I’m incredibly grateful.

I posted a meme I found on IG today. It says, “Don’t save anything for a special occasion. Being alive is the special occasion.”

So there you go. Do it all. Take the trip. Kiss the dude. Wear the sparkles.

But right now, go to bed.
Love,
GS


Jinn December 12, 2023

Fingers crossed it all turns out as you want it to.

Complicated Disaster December 12, 2023

Haha. The new company must be really clear that you don't like their offer now you've put them off for two days! It'll give them time to think about what they really want! xx

colder December 12, 2023

I hope the job offer comes with the sound of a Brinks truck backing up to your front door! :)

plushcreep December 13, 2023

It still seems so weird to be having these meetings in your apartment!

sudare December 14, 2023

The apartment sounds cool!

Serin February 05, 2024

Hope it goes/went well. Both the meetings and the other company offer.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.