French Connection in These titles mean nothing.

  • Dec. 10, 2023, 5:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m reading a Saul Bellow novella called A Theft. It’s was copyrighted 1989, and my copy was a generously sized Book of the Month paperback. It’s about me, who I might have been with money, connections, a psychiatrist, four husbands, three daughters, a love of my life, and an emerald ring.
A bulb lit above my head.
The Austrian au pair is like, and not like, the American girl who goes to France to get a useful Parisian accent in Lily King’s The Pleasing Hour, published in 1999.

AND!!!

The last few nights I listened to James Baldwin’s novel Giovanni’s Room (1956) in which male love cannot make a commitment - and its similarity to Annie Proux’s short story “Brokeback Mountain*, (1997, later the big movie).

THUS!?!?!?

Was King influenced by Bellow?
Was Proux influenced by Baldwin?

BEATS ME ---- four profound and very artful stories.


Last updated December 10, 2023


Sleepy-Eyed John December 10, 2023

Exciting when you discover something new. Never read any of those tho.

NorthernSeeker December 10, 2023

Perhaps these stories are more common in real life but not often written about in the literary world. I know that is a horribly prosaic view.

noko December 10, 2023

We are a connection making species. Go you. Knowing who we might have been matters.

NorthernSeeker December 26, 2023

It seems like ages since you've written. How are things with you?

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ December 27, 2023

You and another canadian are wondering.
I need to get back to you, to here.

thinks are fine. I have some news.....nothing big of course, but small items.
I'll be back pretty soon.
tomorrow??

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.