Holidays in Me Being Me

Revised: 12/03/2023 8:05 a.m.

  • Dec. 3, 2023, 3 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Did you know that Christmas is not the only holiday that is celebraterd in the Month of December and January?
Do you know what they are? I bet not many people know this but this is what I do know…

https://www.eastidahonews.com/2015/12/14-religious-holidays-believers-celebrate-december/#:~:text=In%20fact%2C%20the%20Interfaith%20Calendar,a%20little%20explanation%20on%20each.

The thing I don’t get and maybe never will is why when it comes to religion that people don’t care or are not interested in learning about other religions anddoing some of their traditions? It’s funny how it’s always the Christian holidays that are a big deal but none of the others like the Jewish holidays or even cares.
I have always tried to learn all I can about people and whaat religion they are just so I don’t offend them and I treat them with respect.
Did you know these are all the religious holidays in December? I bet you only know of the one you celebrate.

https://www.eastidahonews.com/2015/12/14-religious-holidays-believers-celebrate-december/#:~:text=In%20fact%2C%20the%20Interfaith%20Calendar,a%20little%20explanation%20on%20each.

I have a friend who told me that they don’t care about the other holidays and has no interest in learning about them. But my question is if you did go to school you did learn about them so you should know at least the basics and undertsand what they are about.
Like hanakka is about the light because of the amount of oil that was lit when the Jews were walking though the desert. It lasted for 8 days when they thought it would only be enough for one day so it’s called the festival of lights. And Christmas is about the birth of Jesus and there is also Kawansa but I don’t know much about it except that it’s something the African Countires celebrate.
Here is a question? Have you ever given a gift to someone who celebrates a different holiday when their holiday is being celebrated? Like have you ever goiven anyone who is Jewish a Hanakka gift at hanakka? I know people don’t unless they are Jewish.

Onto somethign else…

I woke up at like 1:00 am and didn’t fall back asleep and finally got up at 3:00 am and not feelign well. My nose is all runny and I have the sneezies and I think I might have Covid again. Hubby is going to have to tell the slum lord that the heat needs to be higher at night because I think me not sleeping for 8 hours is making me sick. And my whole body feels cold even though I am sitting on a heating pad and ist’s not helping the rest of my body. If the heat was at like 70 I would be sleeping all through the night and waking up like I am going to take on the world. But I wake up every day trying to feel warm but it just doesn’t happen. And there is no heat that comes out of the heat vents at the time of day I need it too. and when it does it’s not spewing hot air for very long. I wish I could tell her that I would be willing to give her another $100.00 for the heat but hubby says she won’t do that.
Everyone else I know has their heat on to a tempature that they feel comfortable but I can’t because saving 10% is the best to do so you don’t have to spend all thet on heat but you spend it on other things that has nothing to do with fixing anything. I would like to know what that 10% is being used for?
I would like it if landlords were more transparent of where the rent money is going and what percentage is being used as a profit and how much is being used for maintaince?
And another question I would like answered is why I can’t fix what needs to be fixed myself?

Onto something else…

Well for the rest of the day I am not sure what will happen but I do know hockey and football is on so will be watching some of that. And not sure if I will eat dinner or anything for that matter because I just don’t feel good. I just hope I don’t puke.

I should really start wrapping my presents but I just don’t have the energy.

So on this note I will stop here....
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be Calm, Be Safe, and Behave.


Last updated December 03, 2023


Beret December 03, 2023

Probably because most people revert back to the holidays they grew up with. It's comforting and brings about good memories. I was brought up Catholic and went to Catholic school so there was no in depth acknowledgement of other religions. While I respect the right of all to practice whatever religion they choose I have no interest in other religions and their holidays. And to be honest, I haven't been a practicing Catholic in many years so Christmas is not a religious holiday for me at this point. It's all about family, friends, gatherings, cookies, decorations, etc. Nothing religious about it at all.

Jodie Beret ⋅ December 03, 2023

Why not just say happy Hanakka or or happy Passover just to be polite?

Beret Jodie ⋅ December 03, 2023

What makes you think I do not? I never said that I do not do that. You are making assumptions and/or putting words in my mouth.

Jodie Beret ⋅ December 03, 2023

It's just no one I know who isn't Jewish never acknoledges the jewish holidays because if you did you would have said Happy New Year to me when the jewish New year came in September and Passover back in March...

theKat December 03, 2023

not sure why I would celebrate other religions traditions? We have so many that I am unsure I have the time or energy to add more unless I was having my jewish friend stay with us then of course we would add hers too. Christmas is all about the birth or christ and my jewish friends do not believe christ was born so neither of us would feel in our hearts the other holiday even tho I respect hers... and others too

Jodie theKat ⋅ December 03, 2023

You don't necessarily have to celebrate the other religions but if you know someone who is you can awcknolege their specials days, Like when it's Easter I would say "happy Easter" and there is no reason why you or anyone can't say Happy Pasover. It;s funny how I know the basics of what the world celebrate but no one so far there are a very few who do know.

theKat Jodie ⋅ December 03, 2023

I do that already. I think most people I know do but you have to know someone is jewish to say that and many people do not just openly tell people what religion they are unless they are close friends

Jodie theKat ⋅ December 03, 2023

FYI...I am Jewish so now you know...But then you did know this right?

Purple Dawn December 05, 2023

If someone Jewish was to wish me a Happy Hanukkah I'd wish them one back. Otherwise I just stay with my own beliefs. I don't think it is my job to learn about every religious holiday that others celebrate unless I am possibly in a country where it is a majority of the people.
I hope you feel better soon.

Jodie Purple Dawn ⋅ December 05, 2023

Well, I think if you know you should say the apporiate holiday. But if they are your friend you should already know this?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.