Old Friends in These titles mean nothing.

  • Nov. 30, 2023, 5:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Simon and Garfunkel song - written by Paul Simon of course
The words?

Old friends, old friends
Sat on their park bench like bookends
A newspaper blown through the grass
Falls on the round toes
Of the high shoes of the old friends

Old friends, winter companions, the old men
Lost in their overcoats, waiting for the sunset
The sounds of the city sifting through trees
Settle like dust on the shoulders of the old friends
Can you imagine us years from today
Sharing a park bench quietly?

How terribly strange to be 70
Old friends, memory brushes the same years
Silently sharing the same fears

Willie and Waylon had an album of ‘contemporary’ covers that came out in 1983 with that song. But what a contemporary it was.

Will you love me when I’m down and out?
Will you stand by me?
Wipe the blood away from my dying hand when I give my love to you?

Strong words. Probably never true. Weren’t then, aren’t now.

Sun came up in a clear clear sky.
Snow, well it’s winter of course.

If I never walk in the sun again it will be too much for me to stand
If I ever drink warm red wine again, I find myself reaching for your hand
If you’re going girl in the summer time you better take the shining sun
you better take the golden fields and the perfume of the clover and the corn.

Who wrote those words?

… in the wintertime you better take the fresh cut fire wood
and the smooth red wine that kept us warm.

Lots of wine references.

Sure there were.


Last updated November 30, 2023


Deleted user November 30, 2023

Boomer sounds. Great stuff. Emotional resonance - Old Friends. Real poetry.

NorthernSeeker November 30, 2023

Odd to hear the saxophone and the jazzy piano backup for the duo.

Jinn November 30, 2023

Great stuff !

Just Annie December 01, 2023

I love Simon and Garfunkel. Except oddly Bridge Over Troubled Waters. Maybe because I find it difficult to sing along with that one. My voice isn't good enough. But you should hear my rendition of The Boxer.

Purple Dawn December 04, 2023

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NipQmhsCBe8
Do me a favour and listen to this one :) He's a guy who lives close to where I am on Moberly Lake, we may have had a few brews together at parties.
Take care,

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.