Well today is the day it is in These titles mean nothing.

  • Nov. 29, 2023, 9:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The first Wednesday after Thanksgiving, USA style.

I called my daughterinlaw today. We had a nice talk. My nephew - my brother’s son - is getting married at the end of next month in Chicago. They have a block of hotel rooms reserved but the reservations expire in a few days. Jim and I do not want to go - so far - it’s winter, etc. etc., plus another etc. Deb and John and their grown up kids had planned a holiday for the end of the year and they plan to take it in Chicago - they like the city - it’s 5 hrs from the Twin Cities. So all is settled. Jim and I get to stay home and they get to go. I’ll do like I advised Harry and Meghan to do for Charles’ Coronation - we will send a nice card.

Kids etc will be down this weekend. I have my free frozen turkey (long story I may get to or not) in the freezer along with the apple pie from the Dem’s fund raiser so I feel fairly well prepared. The table isn’t ‘quite’ cleared off, but an attempt has been made and I’ve had support from Australia. https://twitter.com/i/status/1728759282127237251

Ok. News.

  1. I got the turkey for free - I was out of meat and the local store I like offered a FREE turkey if I bought $50 worth of meat from their lovely meat counter. If I lived alone I would be a happy vegetarian. I’d still want to eat eggs and dairy, but I could easily give up the actual once-living creatures. But I don’t live alone and I find meat necessary in creating meals that someone beside me will eat. So there. But - that’s the last turkey I being home. The turkey itself was ok. It fit in my oven and cooked ok. I put it in the fridge overnight and the next day I sliced most/a lot of the meat from the bones and froze it = see above? Then I had the carcass to deal with. I have never successfully dealt with a turkey carcass. Several days later Jim saw it in its pan and was taken with it - a ‘parts’ turkey? As in a parts combine - one that you have on hand to fix the one you use? I loved that. Still do. I let the cats and the dog eat the parts turkey - I always worry about them eating poultry bones but I always end up letting them and they always end up surviving. But that is the LAST time.

Quote Waylon.

  1. I’m sure my numbering will be goofed up. Not sure if I’ll try to fix it. Who cares? I do but maybe not enough.

  2. One-eyed calico cat is lying across my right wrist. Somewhat restricting.

  3. Positive thing - I’m almost to the end of the Bellow man’s Dean’s December. I seem able to actually read a book from beginning to end for the first time in a long time. It’s kind of intellectual and I like to flatter myself = well you know me. It related to Chicago = in fact someone buys a Pontiac from a dealer on the same street my nephew lives on.

  4. Cat is getting heavy and I have to go pee. Guess I’ll kill two birds.

  5. Barn is pretty much done except for the ramp/driveway. It’s been at this stage for a couple of weeks now. I truly believe it will be finished. It looks good though. JIm thought he could see some color in the full moonlight the other night. We need to get the electrician out to rewire the barn - just a little and get the yard light going again.

  6. Friday I go to town at 8:30 - crack of fucking dawn - to get blood drawn and eyes checked. Followed by phone exam by the nurse the next Monday and a visit with the actual doc on the next Monday. I put that down to just show that I have some idea what I have to do. On Friday I hope to get a nice card for the wedding couple and a few pickup groceries for the weekend visitors here.

  7. New New Yorker had a long article on Joyce Carol Oates and a long review of Barbra Streisand’s new memoirs. I always kind of feel like they are fellow females on this trip through this vale of tears and laughter.

  8. Dog Lib has good news and bad news for you. Which would like first? Good news? Good. She has learned to go in and out the cellar and the back porch doors, allowing us to seasonally seal the door to the deck that doesn’t fit very well. Bad news? Lib has always had an interest in printed matter. She has chewed various books from the book shelves to various degrees. Nothing terribly important but a little irritating. In the last week of so she has taken up filing. She opened up on the the copy paper boxes under the buffet and has made herself a next on the floor of old mail and etc. I put the non=chewed stuff back and swept up the chewed stuff, but she’s really like to try it again.

I’m up to nine on my typed number list. Who knows how it will be formatted? It matters. But not a whole lot.

Blessings to you all. Let’s get this month/this year wrapped up in a joyous fashion = and march ourselves into a new year. Love you all.


Purple Dawn November 30, 2023

I don't like dealing with Turkey leftovers either but will prob make some stock or something this year. The turkey is in the freezer waiting...
I need to do a Xmas letter to my Aunt on my Dad's side, the rest can phone me if they want to know anything. Aunt Rose likes letters or emails :) I have no news to send so I'll probably make shit up....
Take care,

Jinn November 30, 2023

I opted out of turkey soup and let Frank take the meat off it for the dogs. Wasteful but I really do not like turkey soup. I am not a huge fan of chicken soup either. I love it from the Thai restaurant but when I made it ; it did not taste as good . I would rather fix hamburger/ veg -( My Grandma’s Depression soup or potato soup or crab bisque. :-) The only way I like left over turkey is as sandwiches with lettuce .
Our German Shepherd, Tess, will shred anything she can ; including rugs. It’s so annoying. If she chews my books ; there will be problems. :-)
I love Chicago - but Frank won’t go anymore. He says it’s dangerous. I say he just doesn’t want to drive in that traffic. I miss going to the museums and Shedd aquarium.

Just Annie November 30, 2023

Albert had an extra turkey, cooked, on Thanksgiving. Truth is, we much prefer ham. That went first. He made turkey and noodles with it and then got rid of the rest.

I avoid as many weddings as I can, they're just not my thing, and I send bigger gifts (money) to those who don't invite me.

NorthernSeeker November 30, 2023

I turned the sound on to hear Waylon. A turkey supplies a lot of meat. I won't be attempting one for awhile. Haha...liked the parts turkey concept. Hmmm...wonder if Lib would go for some donor books from the library...substitution strategy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.